You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning the Art of Keeping Bees With BigPanda -- One

in #homestead6 years ago

I'm interested! A couple of years ago, I spotted a Crowdfunding project - Flowhive - and I asked if I could have one of the hives.

We went to beekeeping classes and everything but it's had to be put on hold for the moment.

Once we're sorted out again, I'll get a Queen and set-up the hive. We're also going to lear about the Epi-pen before we start... can't be too careful with bee-stings :)

Sort:  

The flowhive is so very cool. My neighbor has one. He just picked it up last year and his colony died (darn city sprayed the gully next to his house and the overspray killed his bees).

I really wanted one but hesitated at the cost. I figure I will watch his bees next year to see how they do in the Flowhive. If they do well, I may spring for one.

Definitely, if anyone nearby or coming to visit is allergic you need an epi-pen. Some people are so allergic.

That's one of the reasons we're waiting. City living (even town living) is too claustrophobic for bees.

We'd like to move to a more remote property. It's going to be difficult enough to transport the fish, I didn't want the hassle of bees too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88