Bolting the house in a grain bin

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

As a loner, I like being able to get things done by myself. However, grain bin assembly requires at least 2 people because they are bolted together. Occasionally, I used magnets to hold the bolt or nut so i could tighten it from the other side of the wall.

I hired my teen cousins to help me put these bins together. Old adhesive had to be chipped and scraped off all the panels and a few had to be hammered back into shape. We even found a couple of bullet holes to be patched.

We started by assembling the ring second from the top. Then we put the top ring together above the second ring.

Two opposite dome slices were bolted to the center cap ring and to the top ring of the bin.

I bought a couple of used turbines via craigslist. I cut holes in the center caps and bolted the turbines on in the hopes of pulling heat out.

I installed gutter around each doom roof for eventual rain water collection.

Three of these jacks were used to lift up the bin as each additional ring was added to the bottom.

Next post will detail framing inside the bins.

Sort:  

I am always amazed at how long things take to build. It is nice to see that you had some help!

#life
Albert Einstein : Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70