FORAGING IN THE WINTER ........THERE ARE LOTS OUT THERE

I was browsing my Wild edibles book this morning looking at what I can forage for in the bush on my Hike on Monday, as the temps are suppose to go to 0 yes I said ZERO. Let me tell you after this deep freeze I will take it and run, or Hike. So I thought well what kind of tea could I make while on the trail. So this post is dedicated to foraging in the winter.

Let's start with that tea I mentioned. There are so many possibilities. Pine and Spruce are the more commonly found tree's in my area, that I can make a great tea from it's needles. Most coniferous tree needles except for of the YEW tree, those needles are toxic. We do have Hemlocks and Fir's in our neck of the woods that would also make a great tasting tea.

spruce tree.jpg

Here is how You make the tea, once you find the needles.

Pick the green needles until you have a handful
Add one tea spoon of white spruce sap
Bring to boil and simmer
Sweeten with honey to taste
Enjoy, sit back and taste the forest in a cup.

Spruce tea.jpg

So now that we have something warm to drink, what are we going to look for to eat? Cranberries. They are very hardy to the cold and winter climate and a great health food to consume. Another berry is the the Hawberry or Hawthorne Berry. These guys are pretty plentiful around here. There are many varieties, not all taste great, but none are poisonous. However the seeds are poisonous so don't eat them.

hawberries.jpg

The Wintergreen also sometimes referred to as the Teaberry or the Checkerberry. These are also very hardy frost and cold climate resistant plants. Quite common in the northern parts. The leaves and berries are both edible. You can chew on the leaves.

winterberry1.jpg

Watercress is another source of food in the winter. They love cold water and thrive near it. The leaves of this plant are a little peppery tasting, but good source of nutrients to chew on or throw in a salad.

watercress.jpg

So there you have it Folks, now once the weather decides to cooperate and rise to a little more of a comfortable zone, get out there and take a trail hike and see if you can forage for some of these treats. Challenge yourself.

Happy Winter Foraging Trails Folks

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

SB Banner NEW.png

Image Sources:
https://www.shtfpreparedness.com/make-spruce-needle-tea-winter/
Youtube
https://www.theweathernetwork.com/photos/view/29076/hawberries/31754378
http://www.gatewaygardener.com/native-plants/native-plants-with-winter-interest
http://foragerchef.com/winter-watercress/

Sort:  

I have heard people using pine needles to make teas, etc.
Aside from the woodsy taste, I'm curious about the nutritional value and the possible medicinal properties.

Watercress IS SO good!

The local natives use it daily to this day. It used to be used to treat scurvy. It has antioxidants, very high in vitamin C. It rejuvenates the skin and hair, and when you gotta cold, it is good for mucus build up. The elders of the local First Nations Reserve have all been willing to share these medicinal properties with many of the local folks. Thanks @goldendawne

WOW! I never would have thought so many nutrients were in what I have hundreds of behind my house!

Very neat!
It is too far south for us to have most of those things, BUT I have make pine needle tea before!
We are hoping for a move northward though, in the future, and maybe we can take advantage of these foraging tips!

It's not so bad living in the North especially in Canada, I encourage you to get out and try some of your own foraging in your climate and zone. What would be readily available to you there may be good for summer foraging up in the North. Thanks

That is true!
Ill have to look more into it and see what is available around here...
Im from Ohio, and I miss the northern climate. :)

Nice post! Thanks for sharing. Yes pine needles very high in antioxidants and vitamin C! If you have deer and elk also turkey you can generally eat whatever they eat, although with some stuff taste may be an issue lol.

I didn't know about watercress.

ah, I found this post sooo interesting. I wish I knew more about plants and their uses. I don't get much chance to go hiking, I should go more often! I don't think we have many berries and that sort of thing, but I'm sure I could find something to make tea with.

Also - you are so brave to hike in that weather. I think it might be very enjoyable though. I can just imagine a brisk, fresh hike to clear the mind

Great post, thank you

I'd love to eat something like that but too bad we don't have it here in the Philippines, it will never grow though if I planted.

But I bet you have so many really delicious plants and fruits in your country that we don;t here. Thanks for commenting and now following you my friend

Yepp because of the weather I guess. Our plants fruits and veggies can only survive in a tropical countries like here in the Philippines. I was wondering where abouts in Canada are you from? I'm guessing based on the picture that you live in Manitoba or Alberta. Thank you so much my new friend and you're welcome anytime and I did followed you back xx. Happy New Year and Good Afternoon/Morning your time.

I am located in Eastern Ontario Canada. Thank you for the follow

Excellent post there @gardengirlcanada :)
I've heard somewhere that boiling the pine needles can destroy the Vit C, is this correct?
Just to play safe, I've usually brought water to boil then removed from heat and then added the needles. I then let them steep for a few mins.

resteemed with pride :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54