You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are my eggs fertile?! Is the rooster doing his job? How to tell...

This is awesome, I've always wondered how to tell the difference because there were a few eggs I'd eaten that made me question whether or not they were fertile! I have a question too - what could be a little, hard brown spot near the blastodisc/blastoderm? I worried it might be the very beginning of a little growth but I have no clue! Looks sort of like this:

If you have any idea, let me know! Thanks!

Sort:  

I do! Lots of people think this is a baby forming but it is not! These are called 'meat spots' and are basically a glitch. While the egg is forming, a small piece of tissue gets trapped in the white and is inside the egg. Ugly, but not harmful. Most people remove them with a spoon before cooking, but it wont hurt you if you eat it. :)

It could also be part of the ovary. We get those and chunks sometimes.

Phew, thanks! That's good to know! I usually just picked them out of the egg :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90