Meet our little Jacob's 4-Horn Ram! ♥ (Lamby gets to stay!!)

Guys! Guess what?! Fans of Lamby will be ecstatic!

If you don't know about Lamby, here you go:
Lamby comes home
Lamby update
Another Lamby update

We found a 'husband' for Lamby, and she is officially staying here to become a mama! ♥

P1060581.jpg

We were on the fence for quite some time, leaning first one way, then the other.


We love our Lamby, but she was purchased with the goal in mind to use her for meat in the fall.

Before you decide we are awful people, realize that we believe it is much kinder and healthier to eat meat we have raised in a kind, loving, and natural environment, where the animal can grow and play and live a normal life, rather than buying meat from the grocery store that has been factory farmed.

P1060557.jpg

I was actually shopping around on Facebook the other day for lambs. Lamby would be ready to butcher in the fall, and we would need another lamb to start growing, so we would have one ready every 6 months.
You butcher at about a year old.

I asked the lady I bought Lamby from if she would have any ready to go in a month or so.
She private messaged me with a lamb she was not advertising for sale, but that she could be persuaded to part with right now. I almost told her no, because I wasn't quite ready, and she was asking for more than was economical to spend on a feeder lamb.

P1060567.jpg

Then she told me what kind of lamb he was. A Jacob's Four-Horn Sheep.


Now, I don't have photos of adult Jacob's sheep, and I generally do not use photos that are not my own, so go ahead and do an image search of these fantastic sheep! Go ahead, I'll wait...

You see! They are awesome!


These are a very healthy, disease-resistant breed of sheep, and are still pretty rare. They have a cool background story about how they are descendant from Jacob's sheep when he lived as a shepherd with Laban, working for the right to marry Rachel in Biblical times. (No one knows if they are, indeed, descendant from these sheep, but it's still pretty cool.)
 
Anyway, the more I thought about it, the more I wanted this little dude. I talked it over with my husband and we decided that rather than continually buying feeder lambs, we would breed our own! So, just like that, Lamby is off the menu, and this awesome little dude is joining the family! ♥

P1060576.jpg

He is doing very well, after adjusting to living here. I supposed it was somewhat of a shock, being moved from inside this lady's house, being raised like a baby, to living in a pen of goats, who are, quite frankly, pretty rude. He got over his homesickness though, and is doing fantastic. He has two little horns growing on top of his head, and you can feel two little bumps on the sides of his head where the third and fourth horn will grow.

P1060617.jpg

Lamby is not really impressed so far.


She is not keen on this little guy who is stealing attention from her 'mama' and who gets milkies from bottles while her 'mama', for some unknown and cruel reason, will not give her milkies anymore. 'Mama' says she is too big, but she heartily disagrees.

So, Lamby pouts. She also chews on the car just to show 'Mama' how she feels about this.
P1060549.jpg

We have high hopes for this little Jacob's ram, (still unnamed), and Lamby.


They will be lovingly cared for while at the same time providing us with a source of healthy, humanely-raised meat.

page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for reading! Have a fabulous day! ♥ If you have any name ideas for this little guy, please drop them in the comments!


page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png


Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.


20180516_002249_0001.png
Click the banner above to join a fantastic group of mamas over on Discord! ♥

Sort:  

He is so cute!😍

What a pair they will make!
We def plan to invest in meat sheep once we have a homestead.
Id really like a few milk sheep too!

I am considering milking Lamby for sure, when the time comes! We already have dairy goats, so I am excited to see the difference in milking, and in the quality of the milk itself! ♥

Great looking lamb. I want some Jacob's four- horns.

Thanks! They are so cool!

Ughhh why do you post such cute photos like these!!! I loveeeee your little farm animals, hahahha Lamby please don't be jelly! Xx

Gotta share the cuteness! ♥
Haha!
She is super jelly, but hopefully that'll go away when he doesnt need milk bottles anymore. ♥♥

Weird but I am wanting to know if Lamby will accept her "chosen husband". Hahahaha maybe she will be attracted to him in the future. They look cute together. Looking forward to see them breeding and you have a little herd in your farm, @squishysquid! :)

Thanks!
Yes, I hope she eventually likes him. Im sure she will, but right now she is jealous since I am her 'mama' and she cant understand why he is getting lots of attention and milk bottles, and she isnt, haha!

I feel happy for Lamby. It is strange how we buy meat in the butchery and never associate it with the actual animal. Hope you get lots of babies.

Yes, in this day and age, it seems most people have separated themselves from the reality of where meat actually comes from. I've had people tell me, horrified, that they cannot understand eating an animal that has a name, but they have no trouble buying packages of meat from the store.

Thanks! I hope we get lots of babies too! ♥

Oh wow! Them be gorgeous sheep. I hope this is a match made in heaven with many wonderful days!

I just have one question. With double the horns will there be double the rutting and tupping? ;-)

I'm looking forward to see how this story turns out. Hunting down our spring and fall lamb is sometimes a little complicated.

Thanks!! :D
As far as your question goes, I hope not! LOL
Im excited to see how this turns out as well. Worst case scenario, we'll just eat them, but Im hoping for lots of babies and that the little ram grows up nicely and has a good temperament. Gotta watch those males closely and make sure they don't get an attitude, haha, no matter the species.
So far so good though!

hahaha so true so true about them males!

It should help that he's been hand raised thus far, I would imagine. Hoping!

Should be at least good fodder for the writing ;-)

I know a lady who raised Jacob sheep. The 4-horned ones look so cool--sort of mythical, even. :)

Yes, they sure do! I hope ours gets really fantastic-looking horns, but even if they are not mythical looking, its okay. He's such a sweetie. ♥

so cute I guess he is the black sheep of your family now LOL

Yes he is, haha! ♥

First! How exciting is that! And funny! Poor Lamby!
The new little is beautiful! I googled and it wanted to show me camals ahaha! I was like this isn't right and kept scrolling.. Holy moly! They look SO cool! I can't wait to see updates on the little feller! Seeing the horns grow will be interesting.
Glad you went for it! and Lamby gets to have her husband lol. :)

Haha thanks! They are super cool, right?! I hope he grows epic horns like that too, but if they are only mediocre, its okay, hes a sweetie. ♥
Im glad I went for it too, and I cant wait to see how this story unfolds. ;)

Yay!🎉🎊 Team Lamby!

Hahaha! Team Lamby for the win!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86