Brand New Chickens!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

As I mentioned in a previous post, we had to up our chicken timeline by about 6 months. A good friend of mine was going through a divorce and wanted to lighten her chore-load (and I'm sure save money by not buying feed all winter).

There was an old shed back in the woods that was full of trash, but a really good size. My plan was to move it closer to the house, build nesting boxes and an enclosed run for them and use it as a chicken coop. So with this new timeline, we cleaned out the trash, saved anything worth saving, and went to work.

This was our attempt at moving it:

What you can kinda see at the end of the video is the back wall completely giving out. It was so termite damaged, it wasn't structurally sound enough. My husband was secretly glad. He much preferred just knocking it down.

I JUST missed him smiling and nodding at the camera :)

So off to Tractor Supply we ran to buy a coop. Do NOT trust them when they say it can be put together in 90 minutes with just a screwdriver. It was a pain to put together -- hence no pictures or videos. But we got it finished on Friday, and went to pick up the newest employees Saturday.

We transported them in dog crates covered by a blanket so they wouldn't get blown around too much.

21740006_666439518934_5623354015608322825_n.jpg

Meet the chickens!

I'm not sure what all of their breeds are, I'm not even sure how many we got! I think 12-13? I DO know we have two roosters that are actually very sweet. The bantam rooster crows every morning and Baby Jack (who was afraid of them at first) giggles and imitates him whenever he does.

21762038_666439553864_2284182860145776336_n.jpg

21731264_666439608754_6043930012189773204_n.jpg

This beautiful little lady may be my favorite!

21462443_666439558854_7530338993326926254_n.jpg

Our first eggs!
21743112_666484433924_3155206384849719080_n.jpg

I've been bugging the crap out of them and checking their nesting boxes every hour on the hour. :) It's like Christmas morning whenever you open the nesting box and see a brand new egg!

hillsborough Homesteading.jpg

If you like what you've read give me a follow and keep up with our latest homesteading adventures! I'll gladly follow back! Happy steeming!

Sort:  

Congrats on getting your first chickens and eggs! You have a good mix in there, I see a silver laced wyandotte, barred rock, and some ameraucanas.

Thanks! I need to text my friend and get all their names and info...age/breed, etc. I need to get a good picture of the roosters...no idea what breeds they are!

Chickens are so much fun!! And you have roosters. Wait till the girls get broody!! mine are crazy!! One hatched out 19 and another 18. what happened to 6 or 8? :) Upvoted !

Oooo I can't wait!! I do hope they get broody in the Spring! 19 babies?! That's incredible!

I know!! I helped her a lot to take care of them. They were free ranging and some of the little ones would get lost in the tall grass. Mom couldn't round them up.

Hahahaha awww...I love that image. I saw our rooster getting a little frisky with some of the girls so we may have some chicks brewing soon!!

That is what roosters do. All day long! If they are not busy making their voices heard :)

YOU ARE RIGHT ABOUT THIS FEELING

It's like Christmas morning whenever you open the nesting box and see a brand new egg!

CONGRATS AND ENJOY THEM

Thank you! I'm sure the ladies roll their eyes when they see me coming to check AGAIN lol

definitely
will be like she is coming again
lol

I like farmer life :-)

So fun reading this! I know it is a lot of work and resources getting them set up, but it is rewarding as well. My parents have 2 coops both containing 6 chickens for a total of 12. The 6 youngest ones just started laying a couple months ago, and it definitely felt like Christmas morning when it happened! I enjoy reading your posts!

Thank you! It's the most rewarding thing to make a meal out of eggs YOUR chickens laid. You know what they ate, how happy they are, which one laid which egg and how much really goes into making a single egg. Gives you a new appreciation!!

You are absolutely right!

Congratulations on your first chickens and eggs! I like that coop. We may be looking at getting a second one since our older chickens refuse to share their coop with the younger, newer chickens. Following!

Thank you! I love how the coop is set-up, but putting it together...ugh! What a pain!

Congratulations @aibell, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1796 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1296.47. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I am so happy for you!!

This evolution has been very easy to watch at and impressed me from the beginning. You are wonderful and do wonderful things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78