What to do with nasty berries

in #homesteading6 years ago

Well earlier this summer we tried to eat some frozen berries. But they had been stored in the WRONG freezer. They had taken on the taste of salmon. 🤢

So about a week ago, instead of feeding them to my animals, I spread them all over my back yard.

041E0ED6-3440-441D-8185-DD4E7B9B6B92.jpeg
I put some in the ferns. Ferns only grow where there is a good supply of water, they also help retain moisture. Perfect for baby plants.

8B3C6CB9-96FD-4C6F-AF9B-B11133C66EDB.jpeg
An ugly bare spot, hopefully I can get the fish berries to take. Kinda skeptical though.

1EB695FE-192B-4E03-BF74-A4CE33455B4E.jpeg
Then again in this forest canopy area. I have tried once before with seeds I have strained from making jam. Like a seed bomb. But I think the cooking may have killed the germ.

We shall see, it would be amazing to have my own bushes, then to have my kids come pick when they are older!💗

Sort:  

That's so awesome. My family goes to a friend's farm to eat and sometimes keep a few berries. How are the fires in Alaska doing?

We don’t have any in our direct area.
They seem to be in the southern interior. I haven’t heard much even from forestry. It seems to be just bush and no homes.
I hear Cali has another fire, then the one in spain 😣💔

Good to hear. I remember some summers being really bad.

As of late the only bad ones we have had here in my neck of the woods is house fires 🙁

Freezing seeds is a good way to force germination! You should do fine, unlike the cooked berries, they were non viable. Planning ahead for kids visit is good, I hope these are a ways from your house, in case they draw bears! Keep on picking! :D

There are enough berries around and the river I’m not to worried about bears. If I have to I will shoot it.

You could use a bear skin run when it gets Nippy! Sound like a plan, LOL!

How deep would you need to go to use an Earth Battery for heat up there?

For Geo-thermal? About 400-500 feet deep, 10-12 holes per house.

A six inch water well hole cost $8 a foot, just to give you an idea.

No, an Earth Battery is layed in horizontally, Lower than the freeze line by about twice. Running air through the pipe will cool in the summer, and heat in the winter. Here it is 3 feet down, there it is likely 6, but it could give you a greenhouse that does Not need extra heat. Or even your house directly.

Oh, that would be a ton of work! But it might be worth it. Yeah our freeze layer is deep

I am planning to use it on the new land we just bought. Both for the house and greenhouse. Free heat and cool is good to find! :)

How deep is the septic line buried up you way? Should be the same.

Don’t know we just recently dug down to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94