You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Water Your Garden Less

in #homesteading5 years ago

Good post!
Watering is something that I have to deal with every year in my garden. Building up the soil to hold more water is a continual process that is not always easy to keep up with. Finding the mulch in the summer is one of my challenges.

Sort:  

Thank you! Yeah, it can be hard to find it in the summer. I collect fall leaves and store them until the following fall to add them on the garden. But you could put the leaves down in the summer too. I just get bags of leaves from my neighbors and people in my community.

Posted using Partiko Android

I collect all the leaves in the fall and put them on the garden, but I till them in the following spring. I tried using straw for mulch in the summer, but the mice like living in it, and they tend to eat holes in the potatoes...
If I ever get a chipper/shredder, I could run the straw through it and it wouldn't be as easy for the mice to live in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93