Old Mans Beard, Usnea

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Usnea is commonly called old mans beard, beard lichen, tree moss, and many other names. Usually, the folk names of Usnea reference the appearance of the growth, which is long and stringy or short and tufty depending on the species, which there are hundreds of.

20171230_140428.jpg
A tuft of Usnea growing from an old apple tree

Old mans beard forms on trees all over the world, growing from high up on branches all the way down to the trunk. The usnea that grows around my home is a pale seafoam green color.

20171230_140337.jpg
A pile of branches covered in old mans beard, leftover from the tree that fell during a recent wind storm

Usnea has many medical uses. It is one of the strongest natural antibiotics, due to the compound usinic acid. It is also highly antifungal, antiviral, and anti-inflammatory. "Laboratory studies and clinical trials suggest that usnea may be more effective than penicillin in inhibiting the growth of gram-positive bacteria such as streptococcus, pneumococcus, and various strains of tuberculosis in the human body."(Tilford, p.148)

20171230_140418.jpg
Another tuft of old mans beard

The medical use of Usnea dates back to 300bc, when it was used to encourage hair growth. I use tinctured old mans beard as a soothing remedy for a sore throat. Adding a few mls to a small amount of warm water and using as a gargle is all it takes to kill the bacteria or virus thats causing the sore throat. The tincture in water can be swallowed to ease a cough and to prevent mucus in the lungs from developing into a secondary infection like pneumonia. Dried and powdered usnea can be applied to open wounds to releave pain and prevent infections.

20171230_140223_HDR.jpg
All that's left of a very big tree that had the most old mans beard growing on it that I've ever seen

Tomorrow I will show you all how I harvest and dry old mans beard for a powdered wound dressing, and make tincture for internal use. I'm going to gather as much as I can from the fallen branches, hopefully there will be lots to share with friends and family.

20171230_190704_Burst01.jpg

Sort:  

This is a great post, every time I walk by a tree with lots of lichen on it, I wonder if it can be used or not... while I guess I still have to be careful, as there are many kinds of lichen, at least I finally learned from you one useful kind - funny name, too, old man's beard

Glad you found the post useful :)

I am looking forward to your posts!
Such a great energy to this medicine. It is my hope to work with it this year.
Thank you for sharing.

Thank you, I'm so happy you like my work! The potential in the plants ALL AROUND us never ceases to amaze me, so much much life giving medicine and nourishment. I'm so much looking forward to spring when all my plants come up I can do some really good posts.

I can hardly wait! An elder told me that all the medicines we need are within 30 meters of our home. I believe that to be true. :)
Glad we have connected!

I totally agree! With the elder and about connecting :)

Congratulations @amymya, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2788 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1913.76. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Cool! Thank you @blocktrades for the upvote, very exciting for us newbies to get noticed for our work :)

Wonderful info. I love beards, especially old mans beard! I see it sometimes, but didn’t know the medicinal value! Thanks.

If i wasn't on my phone i would share with you a pic of a bearded hen! She is so cute. Glad the information is of value to you :)

Ahaha if you remember later, please share!

https://steemit.com/walkwithme/@amymya/walk-with-me-into-the-woods-of-rubble

Shes the last chicken in this post :) I'll have to get more pics tomorrow if i can :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28