How I Store my SeedssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading5 years ago

IMG_7910.jpg

My favorite time of the year! Seed catalogs are being delivered regularly in the mail. (Where do you like ordering seeds from? I need more catalogs to read.) Every evening we sit by the fire and flip through them circling everything we want. I have made several big orders and my previous method of storing seed in a metal recipe box no longer works. So I started trying to find a better method.

IMG_8209.jpg

These Baker Creek seed packets fit perfectly into photo boxes. When I looked online, I found these very cool photo boxes and carrying case . They are clear, and I will eventually put a label on them once I stop ordering seeds (will that ever happen???). So my boxes are grouped like Herbs, Greens, Broccoli/Cauliflower, Beans, Flowers, etc.

IMG_8211.jpg

Now.... I actually just ordered 100 more seed packets so I'll need to order another case. These seeds I ordered were from the University of Rhode Island. They received expired seeds that are still viable and are giving them away (free seeds say what?!?). It does cost $.20 each for shipping and handling. They are available to anyone in the U.S., but it has to be received by January 18th. Here is more information, and if you are interested, you can order yours HERE! Just thought I would share with you lovely folks!

IMG_8212.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



That is so kind! Thank you very much.

Congratulations @andiekins! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Woo Hoo! Free seeds! Thanks for the info! If I order from a magazine, then I use Gurney (they're always offering $ off) but for the most part, I receive seeds from my friends or pick up seedlings at the farmers market.
Great idea to organize your collection with the photo boxes! (Way better than my method of stacking mine beneath my porch bench.)

HA! our first method was just a box that turned into another box and two bags. I started trying to use the seeds instead of just hording them.

Wow. When you told you were going tell others about the seeds and your storage method, i wasn't expecting such a cool way to store them! Your post makes me want to buy seeds. Of course, you know i don't garden due to ne killing any plant that i touch. Great post!
Love you!
Mom

Wow, that is a fantastic way to save seeds!!
Thanks for sharing the free seeds tip!! I had no idea! Definitely going to try and get some for the spring! :D

You can never have too many seeds :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94