Whirlwind

in #homesteading5 years ago
Hey y'all! So I see I lost contact. I do apologize. I love sharing my journey and reading about your journeys as well, but honestly this farming this has me running sun up to sun down. We spend the hottest part of the day homeschooling Farm boy and Farm girl. Then once the heat cools a bit, we are back to it. We've taken on some new ventures. Along with our strawberries, we are now doing mushrooms. What a blast that has been! Lots of learning new things, and getting to experiment with some cool looking shrooms. No worries about the legality of our fungus, we're growing safe, legal, and delicious mushrooms. Right now were doing Oyster and Shiitake.
Chris built us a really awesome fruiting chamber using a plastic greenhouse from Amazon for $88, a plastic tote, a computer fan, a humidity meter, an exhaust van, and some dryer duct. Once we got the mushrooms up and running we started looking into getting lettuce growing in the summer. That is still a work in progress. We are watching Ray Tyler's videos on repeat, and then we realized we bought the ecourse. So right now our main focus is getting mushroom supply way up to sell to restaurants, growing lettuce year round, getting our strawberries supply WAY up, and then growing seasonally. Our whole box idea isn't coming into fruition yet as our tractor has been out of service for a few weeks. Finally got the parts in today and Chris got it back up and running! Welp I'm needed back in the field because tomorrow is market day! See y'all again soon :)

Here's some of what we've been growing and taking to market each week!

IMG_1258.jpgIMG_2227.jpgIMG_1259.jpg

Sort:  

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Sounds like you've been ultra busy. Good to see so such a productive harvest happening.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thank you!!!

Wow! You have been busy! I'm pretty jealous about the mushroom project. I've wanted to try that for years. I would love to hear more about how it works. Hint Hint. :)

There is a lot that goes into it! Chris does most of the mushrooms, and I try to stay in my lane. But as I can, I'd love to share with you :) Email is easiest for me because I don't have to try to find passwords and sit at the computer ha!

Congratulations @andiekins! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97