What I Have Been Up To

in #homesteading6 years ago

I know it has been over a week since I posted anything on my own blog. Here are a few of the things I have been up to in that time.

Each week for the past several years, I have been getting fresh raw milk - some goat milk, and some cow milk. Over the past six months I have been getting cow milk from a local, trusted friend. Sometimes, there is one gallon of fluids, and that is it. But from week to week, the volume can range from less than a gallon to upwards of seven or more. This week, I picked up eight gallons of fluids. They range in freshness from one day to five days old. So what to do with eight gallons of beautiful blessings from Mother Earth?

In the past three months I have made mozzarella cheese with the expert and wonderful guidance of my dear friend @carey-page; I made cheddar next, then monterey jack, and this week I decided to try something I have never done before. Hanging in the picture is my very first batch of cream cheese. It smells divine! In a couple of days, I will be able to share my first ever batch of homemade cream cheese. I can hardly wait!

P_20180525_135608_vHDR_On.jpg

Here is the start of my garden. Those are green bean plants, and they are very ready to be moved into the garden.

P_20180525_135743_vHDR_On.jpg

Below is a shot of where we live. That is a lot of grass to mow. It keeps me and my ds (dear son) busy. The best thing about mowing grass is that you can be outside enjoying the sun, wind and fresh air. It is a blessing, and I am grateful for where I live.

P_20180525_135813_vHDR_On.jpg

A while back that same ds wanted to make a 'delicious chocolate cake'. For some reason, a good portion of the cake ended up bubbled over the sides of the pan and spilling onto the baking sheet below. What do you do with imperfect cake? You make perfectly delicious trifle. And it definitely was.

P_20180428_214808_vHDR_On.jpg

Thank you for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60