You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Devices For Off-Grid Electricity Generation

@jacobpeacock
Excellent information. I do not have a wind turbine but wish I DID...!!!!!!
More so this time of year with days getting shorter and many cloudy days. And I wouldn't have to shovel snow off a wind turbine like i do my solar panel. I have pretty good prevailing westerly wind up here to.
(:

Sort:  

Thanks @annephilbrick! I was thinking that the Power Tower might work well for you with your wood stove. I would look at several small wind turbines in an array if I was you because then there is no need for a 'dump load'. Plus at sixty bucks a pop they are pretty cheap. :)

I am opperating on 12volt and a very old forklift battery. No inverter. I want to stay 12 volt.. but I know wind power would be great here.

Yeah those 12 volt wind turbines would probably work great with your current system. Forklift batteries are awesome! Even old ones as long as they are well maintained. I also want to stay 12 volt just for the sake of simplicity but my large solar panel is 24 volt so I might upgrade eventually.

I totally forgot about this until late last night @annephilbrick but there are actually some really good thermoelectric generators for wood stoves. They have a variety of products but I would recommend steering clear of the water cooled ones for simplicity's sake.

Probably the best one for your setup is this one: http://www.devilwatt.com/products/21-devil-watt-45-watt-wood-burning-stove-thermoelectric-generator-dw-sm-45w

You can view all their products here: http://www.devilwatt.com/products?limitstart=0

This is great information and I didnt know about this. My woodstove
burns for at least 6 months out of the year...
Thank You....
(:

You are welcome @annephilbrick! The technology is really amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78