A blog about chickens

As promised, here is my blog about our chicks we got recently.

As a kid, I had all sorts of pets. One of which, were chickens. I loved them! They were hilarious. I loved watching them run around with a big bug they had just found, as if they had just found a big prize. I loved how they would let each other know who the big boss was. And I loved how they would squawk and squawk after laying an egg, like they'd just performed the greatest miracle anyone has ever known. They were comical.

Thus being said, I knew when we bought our first home, I would have some chicks of my own. About 4 weeks ago, my husband gave me the "ok" and we went out and purchased eight baby chicks! They were the cutest! But they grew so fast! And we now have eight pullets on our hands!

IMG_0407.JPG
(Literally, they love to roost on my hands! )

They've grown so fast. And we've recently let them free range (under my supervision).
IMG_0402.JPG

IMG_0398.JPG

I truly think chickens make some of the best pets. They're great for bug control, really inexpensive, and they give you eggs (which lets just be honest, is the greatest miracle anyone has ever known!)

Here I am, about the ripe 'ol age of five, carrying our chicken we lovingly called "Granny."
IMG_0406.JPG

Thanks for stopping by and reading my babble about chickens. If you have any questions, let me know. And if you enjoy chickens, or are thinking about getting some of your own, please leave a comment (I like to think I'm not alone out there).
Thanks!
-AJ

Sort:  

what a cute little kid you were!

We love our chickens too. Glad to find someone else here that speaks chickenese! Haha! 🐓🐓

Haha! I love my chickens! What kind do you have?

Dot is a Golden Lace Wyandotte, Blue is at least part Cochin, 3 White Leghorns, and 3 Easter Eggers. Have you read today's "Weekly Chicken Gazette" part 2 @mother2chicks🐓

Hi!! I just commented on your intro post - I'm from Indiana!! I also had chickens growing up - Rhode Island Reds, and I still think chickens are the funniest animal :p brrooooock brock brock (that's my chicken noises lol) following!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85