Second start of my beekeeping

in #homesteading5 years ago

Hi, everybody. If you read my post about cable trench, you may have noticed these boxes on one of the photos

DSC_0635.jpg

These boxes is a beehive. My friend gave it to me half a year ago. Previously, this hive belonged to my friends neighbor, an old beekeeper. But the beekeeper died and the hive moved to me. The condition of the hive is not very good. It is necessary to redo the lid, replace part of the boards, clean, paint - a lot of fuss, so I have a job for the winter :)

IMG-20160522-00671.jpg

Certainly I'm a not pro beekeeper, but I have some experience. A couple of years ago, I restored several old hives, settled them with bees (with help of my wife).

queen.jpg

But last year I had to part with them. My neighbor, also a beekeeper, lost several good families and my wife and I decided to give him our hives. Now my bees live in a neighboring apiary.

DSC_0583.jpg

Well, I'll start again, and the first step will be the hive from the first photo.

IMG-20160522-00673.jpg

Sort:  

Good luck! That last picture is great! Did you catch the swarm? My husband keeps bees too.

Thank you. Yes i caught it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65