Strawberries

in #homesteading6 years ago

Every muscle in my old body is screaming at me, but the strawberries are in. All 168 holes in the landscape fabric filled. I planted a mix of Quinault and Ozark Beauty, both ever bearing varieties. Normally I plant the day neutral types, so I'm really interested to see just how these perform. I think it just gets way too hot here for the standard June bearing varieties. I've never had much luck with them.

IMG_0720.JPG

Click image to view full size.

I started the day by cropping out the collard and mustard greens, kale, and Swiss chard that was in this bed. I have one nice last haul to bring to market. I added a bunch of composted horse manure and some organic fertilizer and mixed it all in by hand. One of these days I may need to invest in a tilther.

IMG_0713.JPG

Click image to view full size.

Overall it was a good day. I had to deliver some microgreens to a chef who is opening a new restaurant next Tuesday. He had some friends coming over for a 'tasting' of some of his dishes and he invited me to stick around and sample the cuisine. I'm glad I took him up on the offer. It was some of the best food I've ever had.

Another day complete. Markets tomorrow and Sunday, then who knows what's in store for next week. Oh wait, I do! Gotta plant the tomatoes and squash. This homesteading/farming is a never ending adventure . . .


Sort:  

I hope you get more berries than you can handle. Great post and good luck.

Thanks! Me too, but then again I’ll have to harvest all of them. What was I thinking?

Looks great! Well worth the work it takes to put them in!!

I sure hope so. This is my first time doing them in the dirt. My aquaponics ones usually do very well.

Looks great should yield many pounds of strawberries for you this year.

That’s the plan anyways!

hey Crew just new to this community of steemit just looking around and seeing whats happening. I am in the southern hemisphere Queensland Australia and I am harvesting runners now to plant out a new patch. I had 600 plants in for last year I will cut them back and let them grow another season and then replant with new runners.

I did really well with the strawberries last season so I am going to double up for next year now I have my coolroom setup and a good reputation in the district. IMG_7510.JPG IMG_7729.JPG

very nice, i have a large strawberry patch ive been propagating for 2 years now, started with 10 plants and by planting all runners 2 years in a row im up to around 500 plants now. take a gander at my blog and see if there is anything you like :)

We don’t get enough cold hours here to over winter our strawberries. We have to start each year with new over wintered runners.

o wow, that has to suck lol, maybe im not bitching that i live where it gets down to minus 50 at points in winter anymore then. here i just heap some leaves over my strawberries in fall and in spring rake it off and away they go

Yay strawberries! You make me want to plant way more than what I have on the go :)
Nevermind the inches of snow out there...

It snowed THREE TIMES here in Southeast Texas this year. THREE TIMES! The weatherman literally said, “The last time we had this much snow in Galveston County was never.” LOL

You couldn’t get me to move where it snows regularly. I’ll change my mind this summer when it’s 102 degrees out . . .

@barriault,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curators!

Please Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency!

Welcome to the Steem Community @barriault, your homesteading posts are all really neat!

Please reply to this comment*, and I will share your post with the @OCD curator team!

Yes, please share.

@barriault,

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 210!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70