Garden Day 🍀

in #homesteading6 years ago

It's been a while since I tended the garden let alone take a photo of it. I feel kinda sad I fell off the gardening wagon. It all stopped around the time I got really sick a few months ago when being in the garden triggered dizzy spells and then it got cold...

Fast forward a few months and this is where it's at. A wild bushy mess.

The Backyard

The colder months pretty much guarantee the slow growth of grass so this lawn has not seen a mower for a while. Considering how long it's been, it's actually not too bad.

What it does need is a trim around the borders, weeding and a hella lot of pruning.

20180613_111635.jpg

The calamansi tree has not made any progress and the alfalfa seeds I planted around it were eaten by magpies as soon as they sprouted. Im also doubting it's position in the back yard... Bang on centre.

PROS

  • Would make for a great obstacle course...

CONS

  • It's right in the middle...

I need to have my friends from psychic class to come around and gauge this tree for me.

Overall though it's looking pretty sad.

20180613_111642.jpg

After taking in the gorgeous blue skies and weather I got to it!

20180613_112332.jpg

Trim & Tidy

I'm not allowed to use power tools. Hubby worries, not surprisingly since I'm a big baby and I have a cry over paper cuts. So I used the shears to tidy up the edges.

I dont really like having the whipper snipper (edge trimmer?) by the veggies because I'm worried it'll get all my plants. And this doesn't really take that long so I don't mind doing it by hand. It also gives me an opportunity to have a closer look at what needs to be done while I'm down there like random weeding on the lawn.

PicsArt_06-13-10.31.38.png
Taadaa! All done and looking pretty.

PicsArt_06-13-11.05.43.png
I also tidied this section up, removed the grass poking out and added more news paper over the top of it. As you can see, for the most part, the newspaper has kept grass from growing through.

Prune & Mulch

BEFORE

AFTER

The pruning took most of my time. I wanted to be as thorough as possible and make sure I got all the dead leaves out and gave everything breathing space.

I trimmed the rocket down so its not a wild bush anymore. I was going to pull out the lettuce, but it's seeding at the moment and I want to collect those seeds. The chives feel like they're stuck in the trenches of the salad section and needs to be liberated so it can be all it can be. (I'm thinking of planting it with the Calamansi tree)

20180613_160130.jpg

I also pulled the dead flowers off the cosmos and marigolds to harvest the seeds.

20180613_150335.jpg

After all that it was time to put the mulch on, in my case we use sugar cane for the veggies.

20180613_150326.jpg

Front

Just when I thought I was done I decided to give the front a bit of love.

I tackled the front yard weeks ago and was surprised it remained tidy since I did it.

PicsArt_06-14-09.46.08.png

With a big gum tree at the front, there's really no escaping the little twigs or leaves that fall off it. But the weeds haven't grown back yet, and the hedge seems to be doing alright after my hack job.

Presentation wise though I felt it could use some mulch.

PicsArt_06-13-10.51.21.png
(Here's me halfway through one side before I remembered to take a photo.)

It took 4 bags of mulch to get the job done, could have used 5-6 tbh as it's light in some places, but it still looks good and tidier than it did before.

PicsArt_06-13-10.53.09.png

20180613_160337.jpg

PicsArt_06-13-11.11.27.png

Bounty

Of course I couldn't go around the garden and not observe the fruits of our labor.

BEHOLD! Broccoli!
I cannot flipping believe we've got broccoli AND it hasnt been attacked by critters! Don't they look awesome?

PicsArt_06-13-10.41.19.png

TOMATOES!
We're having a Goldilocks moment with our tomatoes. The black russian is too huge and the tommy-toes are too little, so we'll be getting rid of these plants and putting new ones in in spring.

20180613_204841.jpg

MARIGOLDS & COSMOS! These are the dried up flowers I collected months ago and the ones I grabbed yesterday. I'll be harvesting the seeds soon and hopefully have a few packets done up for our friends this weekend.

You know like, welcome to our home, here's some seeds from our garden to plant in yours, sort of thing.

20180613_204933.jpg

These are the rocket (arugula) I pulled out while I was pruning. Unfortunately they too are huge and way too peppery to consume happily.

We'll be replacing this with the kind we do eat in spring. It seemed such a waste considering it grew so well but we don't like it so I've been chucking the cuts further down the garden adding to the half done lasagna layer.

FINALLY.. These things..
I noticed they were growing weird for grass the other week and thought perhaps it's corn.

20180613_204215.jpg

How tf did I get corn growing in the middle of the yard like that? Could be that time I was feeding the birds with seeds and I tossed the seeds on the grass...

Not quite sure what to do with this. Do we let it grow or do we nip this shit in the bud and pull them all out now before it gets hectic?

Thoughts?


To-do

20180613_205039.jpg

Time escaped me yesterday and before I knew it Hubby was on his way home, I'd just finished the front yard and badly needed a shower.

I didn't get a chance to melt down the candle and re-set it, so that's getting done today.

The choices are making tea lights (approx. 3 hours burn time) but I reckon I can make about 10 tealights from one pillar OR make container candles (approx. 8 hours burn time) but I'll only have 2 from 2 pillars, maybe 3.

It's not that we need citronella, it's pretty cold and there's no mossies around. But ambient wise... It's always great to have candles everywhere.

Well folks. Sister girlfriend has to go do a deep clean of the house now, on my 1 year Steemit Anniversary no less. I will celebrate with a glass of wine after.

To all my friends, communities, followers and supporters.

THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH.

I wouldn't have lasted this long on the platform if I didn't have you guys xoxo

STEEM ON!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Your veggies look good Arly. And the non-edibles too.

Cheers Choo! Hopefully we'll have more crops by Dec.

Check and see if milo is the identity of your mystery plants. It is in a lot of bird seed mixes. Your gardens are looking fantastic, even before you tackled them!

I will check! Thank you @hethur240

I was going to suggest free ranging chookies to mow your lawn but...then you might have to fence off that nice bit you have XD Maybe chookies or bunnies in a chookie tractor and drag them around the yard. That's my plan for the next place anyway, I'll tell you if it actually works.

Psychic class? o_O That didn't occur to me as something you could learn how to do, there you go, learned a thing XD

Yay for harvest! And the wild corn XD

goatsig

I was actually thinkin chooks. If anything so we get free eggs and I can use the egg whites for hair treatment. Otherwise I reckon wed have too many eggs to know what to do with.

And YES! You can learn how to tune in through class. Its called Psychic Development. I completed the course a few years ago before I started my business. I was getting info and visions, and didnt know if it was legit or what was happening.

In class we learned how to do readings either by cards or psychometry

Psychometry, also known as token-object reading, or psychoscopy, is a form of extrasensory perception characterized by the claimed ability to make relevant associations from an object of unknown history by making physical contact with that object. Wikipedia

We even had a field trip to a cemetary on night 😁 but mainly it was to learn how to identify our signs and tune in the radar, and trust.

Hey B,

That doesn't look like corn, it looks like nut grass. If its got 3 leafs, pull that bugger out and make sure you get the bulb. Its a right pain in the clacker to get rid of.

thanks G I will get on to the bastards tomorrow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15