First Mock Up of Masonry Heater Fire Box

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

It's pretty crude but I was itching to do something since its been burning a hole in my head lately with all the ideas I've had. Better to burn some wood then my brain and get my pyromaniac on lol.

Its supposed to be a Peter Van den berg style double shoe box batch rocket lol...

20171217_143613.jpg

20171217_143803.jpg

20171217_143628.jpg

Since there is no mortar in the joints and it's probably a bit to small I never did get the smoke to clear completely as it did not get hot enough with all the leaks to burn all the gases. But it did draw and clean up quit a bit.

I'm going to pick up some fire clay, I have sand, and build a more careful one that is sealed and to spec . Also I need to find an old oven, perhaps on Craigslist to get the ceramic glass out of it so I can see whats going on in the fire box.

It was fun and felt good to do something!

Sort:  

Looks like a great start!

Have you seen Paul Wheaton's new series of videos on RMH's? People have made some pretty interesting innovations.

I haven't I was thinking of ordering them but I got Iantos book latest edition 3 and the Wisners latest book... Yeah they have done a lot of research and innovation . I am interested in Peter Van Den Bergs double shoe box batch rocket fire box with some sort of double bell configuration. Otherwise the Kusnetsovs double bell masonry heaters. I don't want to have to feed the stove while its burning I want to put in one batch and forget about it. I did see those latest discussion videos he posted...

Those discussions were what I was referring to. Yeah, the bell shaped one, the one with the full front so you can pull full logs in - some wonderful innovations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69046.82
ETH 3769.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68