Building Legacies Takes Time...

Oh what a difference a year can make!

In this past year, I have spent a lot of time traveling. Mainly for the Starbucks survey contract that I posted about previously. I literally have gone from coast to coast and border to border for work this past year. Unbelievably, I only put 42,000ish miles on my truck this past year, as opposed to the previous record of 90,000ish from a couple of years ago just traveling around Kansas and Iowa cutting grass for Dollar General's.

All that travel has given me a greater appreciation for the beauty and relative peace and quiet of the Ozarks. It's hard to believe that God called me out of Wisconsin to live here in Northern Arkansas 4 years ago yesterday. The time has gone by faster than I would have liked, and I haven't accomplished as much as I would have hoped. By now, I would have liked to have had my orchards planted, my border fencing up, my cabin built, my pole building built and a rotational system of silvopasture employed. Unfortunately, none of those goals has been completely achieved. But there has been progress!

All the travel and hard work over the past few years has made it possible for me to "pay as I go" on my building legacies utilizing earth's resources; the over arching vision that God gave me almost 7 years ago now. Who would have thought building a homestead without debt would be so time consuming and expensive?

Here are a few pictures of the process of me building my cabin, er house, large house. This, along with work and the daily struggles of trying to be a godly father and husband have kept me pretty busy. Not making excuses...o.k. I guess I am. :)

IMG_20180830_091927128.jpg

IMG_20180831_164139615_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180914_150048228.jpg

IMG_20180918_110249223.jpg

IMG_20181005_144112645_HDR.jpg

IMG_20181217_155152854.jpg

IMG_20181121_141613319.jpg

IMG_20181225_145916901 (1).jpg

IMG_20181225_145706557.jpg

IMG_20181225_145736040.jpg

IMG_20181225_145810795.jpg

BLUER-blue-strip-3 (1).jpg

Thanks for Reading!

qs-comments-smart-remarks.gif

As Always,

BLUER-closing-3 (1).jpg

Sort:  

That's no fair!
Go back and get a concrete septic tank.
You know the kind that take two men and a crane to move.

I definitely would have preferred a concrete one, but I knew I couldn't install it myself, so I chose to go with the cheaper and more easy to move option. That's one hidden blessing of living here in the Ozarks of Arkansas. Since I own more than 10 acres I am able to legally install my own septic without a permit. Fortunately for me (and my neighbors) I had experience installing 2 septics with my neighbors just last year, which were overseen by licensed installers.

I am impressed! This whole venture has been a learning experience, I'm sure, but look how far you've come from Mucky Mountain or whatever you called it. That would've been enough for many folks to throw their hands up in despair. Look where you are now! That house is incredible and, once it's done, maybe all of us who knew what you went through to bring it into being will say: "Hey, that's the house that Jason - and God - built!"

you are making good progress, nothing worthwhile happens overnight, and the longer/harder the struggle the more you will enjoy being able to put your feet up and taking a breather.

I am soooo looking forward to that day!

I thought that was a yellow submarine at first and figured it was something for the kids to play in. The truth is completely different!

Hello @bluerthangreen! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @bluerthangreen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87