Garden Tour In Pictures

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I got here last October, it was all weeds and brush then, and this is where I'm at now.

100_0036.JPG

From left to right - carpet down for a walking path, zinnias blooming nicely, cosmos I hope will start blooming nicely, and sunflowers that have done good but not great. Behind the sunflowers is a peach tree previously covered in vines that was cut to the trunk last fall and has sprung back to life.

100_0002.JPG

Front garden bed is full of cosmos seedlings and the bed in back are cosmos that were planted earlier, also shown in next 2 pics

100_0003.JPG

100_0004.JPG

This picture has sunflowers showing along the fencing, with newly planted sunflowers on the left side of the fence and a newly row of Mexican sunflowers (tithonias) to the right of the sunflowers.

100_0005.JPG

The next 2 pics are of gladiolus which were already here.

100_0006.JPG

100_0007.JPG

To the right of the gladiolus I have some red skin mix dahlias from Baker creek seeds that were gifted to me.

100_0008.JPG

Here's another view of the zinnias in front of the cosmos in front of the sunflowers, followed by some pics of the zinnias.

100_0009.JPG

100_0011.JPG

100_0012.JPG

100_0013.JPG

100_0014.JPG

100_0015.JPG

100_0018.JPG

100_0019.JPG

100_0020.JPG

100_0021.JPG

Sunflowers

100_0023.JPG

Two more garden beds with young zinnias newly planted, with a handful of sunflowers mixed in.

100_0024.JPG.

100_0025.JPG

Morning glories and climbing hyacinth and starting to crawl up the fence and netting in this area I just did for fun and for hiding a trashy shed.

100_0027.JPG

Gladiolus were planted at 2 different times under the old hay in this pic, only the back patch has broken through.

100_0029.JPG

I just planted a bag of zinnias in this area, with cardboard serving as a keyhole in the middle of the bed. It was one of those pre-made bags that says it includes mulch and fertilizer along with the flowers. This patch is just zinnias, but I also planted two other patches that had mixed varieties of flowers in the bag. We'll see how they do.

100_0032.JPG

Here's another keyhole garden bed shape mostly full of bachelor's buttons, but the back right corner has some 4 o'clocks and dahlias also.

100_0040.JPG

That clunky structure are a couple old shipping pallet thing that are about to be taken over by gourds. Luffa, bottle, and small fancy gourds.

100_0041.JPG

Those are two old bales of hay, like 5 years old. This is what I've been using to build garden beds and for mulching to prevent weeds and preserve moisture. I've also used cardboard, newspaper, leaves, chop and drop weeds, human urine, epson salts, a little bit of organic fertilizer from a store, and lots of water. No tilling has been done at all, the ground is full of large rocks so I'm just trying to grow on top of the rocks. Not bad so far.

100_0038.JPG

This is the chicken coop I built, surrounded by electric chicken netting from Premier1. I now have a Welsummer rooster, 4 Whiting True Blue hens that lay blue eggs, a brown leghorn, and a mutt chicken that was here when I bought the property. The mutt, her name is #2, is the only one left of the 4 original hens that were here, and losing those other three hens really sucked. I might do another post about the chickens someday :)

100_0039.JPG

This is a patch of land, maybe 1/3 of an acre out of my 3 acres, that a cool neighbor just cleared with his bulldozer and tractor. I'm in the process of burning that brush pile. I'd rather turn it into wood chips or hugelkulture or compost or into soil somehow, but I'm doing what I can with what I have.

100_0037.JPG

I've gotten a lot done and I'm just getting started. That newly opened up area has tons of possibilities. I have no money to throw at stuff, so everything I do is done on a dime, but I'm having a blast most days. Thanks for checking this post out.

Sort:  

I follow your youtube channel also and love what you've done with the place.

@bobbleheadstead I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a upvote and I will give
you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Congratulations @bobbleheadstead! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

looking good, its amazing what can happen when you don't throw money at things. Avoid that pre packaged home depot look as much as possible, creativity doesn't require cash. keep up the hard work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99