2 Minutes with the Farmer: Working with the Boys Hauling FireWood!!!

in #homesteading5 years ago


Today on 2 Minutes with the Farmer we are hauling our first load of firewood for the fireplace at the house. We burn wood as our main source of heat at the house. Today will be the first fire of the fall winter season here on the farm. One thing I love about working on the farm is working with my family. This is just another job that we all get to do together.

Thank you for spending 2 minutes with us!!!
@bowentroyer


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Do you heat your house with 100% wood?
Very nice fireplace but I personally would probably not keep the wood pile so close next to it.

We have an electric furnace as well but we try and use mostly wood.

Heavy lifting is good for the soul!

haha! howdy there Farmer! hey where you get that would, do you cut it or buy it in bulk?

We cut it all off the farm

Firewood warms you several times: when you cut it, when you chop it, when you carry it in the house, when you burn it. :-)

So true!!!

I hope your chimney is clean :) my friend had a dead cat in it and it blocked it so well, it turned his house to over-sized smoker

That would stink. Yes ours is clean

I really envy your lifestyle brother. I know it's a lot of work but I know it can also be very serene and peaceful. I grew up across the street from a farm in Texas. I always used to joke that I grew up so far out in the country that I had cows in my front yard and cows in my back yard.

It is a great life. I have cows in my front and back yard too;)

You probably more literally than me. lol

Posted using Partiko Android

One of the things I miss is the feeling of a true wood fire. I'm not sure, however, that I miss carrying the wood, haha. Cold snap seemed to come early this year to me.

I love the feel of a fire too. Having two boys helps a lot with the carrying of the wood;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71