Busy on the Homestead

in #homesteading6 years ago

It's been fairly busy the last few days on the homestead.
It's this time of year that we like to prepare for the spring & summer seasons by having a number of food items ready for quick meals after a long day of gardening out in the sun.

Today we are canning chilli.
Here you can see we have 6 pounds of lean ground beef with onions and peppers cooking down while the beans simmer for a half hour. This should make 18 pints which will be handy when hungry!

image.jpeg

Yesterday we canned beef stew. We made 7 quart jars. After cooling overnight, these jars are just waiting to be rinsed and dated:

image.jpeg

On Saturday we canned 17 jars of chick peas. These are great for making hummus or adding to soups!

image.jpeg

We also spent Thursday and Friday canning beans. On Thursday we canned beans in tomato sauce, and on Friday we canned beans in molasses for a total of 34 pint jars.

image.jpeg

Maybe we'll take tomorrow off! What's happening on your homestead this week?





Sort:  

Amazing my friend. I love the way you two think.

Thanks Brother....you can never be to prepared!

Woow if you have done much this week, all those packaging are for your consumption? I like to pack the sauces because then it is very easy and fast to make the food and more when it is so busy I hope to finish soon @brimax

Glad to hear you're doing the same!

So, lately we keep the sauces that way, I like it a lot, it's very practical, regards

Your homesteader's pantry is getting quite the bounty! Look at all those fabulous jars! Yes, yes... A little jealous here.

Are the chick peas pressure canned or a water bath?

Chick peas are low acid and must be pressure canned.

Hello my friend how are you, they have been quite busy, I like the way they store their food after a long day of work nothing better than homemade food, in Venezuela we do not do that. They do not have a free day but afterwards they will have it? although in a farm it is not only to cook you also have to take care of the animals, the plants and many other things, but all that effort is worth it because apart from keeping them active, they have their farm very well maintained. I tell you that I get up very early to cook, I take my daughter to school, I go out shopping for food, clean the house, clothes, do a lot in the house, but rest a little on weekends. It would be great to live in that place and prepare for each season of the year

It certainly sounds like you are working hard every day!

Excellent my friend, you can see that they have had a lot of work all these days in their wonderful farm and this packaging of food in this way seems to me a fantastic idea, since as you comment it is perfect for the time that we are full of work and Let's take a moment to eat, we just have to take the container to warm it up and ready we eat fast and easy to return at work. It is a brilliant idea @brimax friend and in these times it is more perfect to do things like these for the spring season. That ground meat that you show us is very tasty, perfect to accompany it with some pieces of crusty bread, and with 18 pints without any doubt you will be very useful and they will last you several days.

The jars will keep for a very long time as well not requiring electricity if we had frozen some food items.

wow extraordinary measures, it is a great idea to prepare yourself thus saving time and money. I'm so glad you're so cautious

Thank you

prepared man is worth two

I've never heard that one before, but I like it!

Wow, you really WERE busy! All that canned food will come in handy when you are busy with farm chores!

Today we are all finished, so it's break time....at least for today. I'm still drooling thinking about the cake you made with your son!

Haha its almost gone! Im pretty sure the kids will have it gone this afternoon... :D

Darn it. I had the car packed and was leaving this morning. Next time ☹️

Haha sorry! These kids are like ravenous wolves, eating everything in sight!
Or pigs maybe... ;)

I see that they have had a lot to do besides their things on the farm. I hope they show us some of their things that they do out there. It's a lot of food, I like the food so its flavor intensifies with the passing of the days, now that they do All that they take to the freezer?

This is why we can our food as much as possible, so we aren't dependant on electricity.

Here in my country we are already prepared for a spring and a summers always. I live in Venezuela

Glad to hear it, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71