Chaga Dual Extraction Method

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Today we are making a Dual Extraction Chaga Tincture.
We start by adding Chaga and Vodka to a glass jar insuring the Chaga is completely covered. This mixture will sit undisturbed for at least eight weeks.

You can see our video on the collection and preparation of Chaga HERE

The reason we do a double extraction is Chaga has water insoluble components like Phyto-Sterols and Betulinic acid as well as water soluble components such as Poly-Phenols and Beta-Glucans.

After waiting almost 3 months the next step is to filter the mixture so the alcohol and Chaga can be separated. Don't throw the Chaga away...we need it for the next step!
We then place the Chaga into a Crock Pot and add water until it is completely covered. This will be left to simmer overnight.

We started with 750ml of Vodka and as you can see, recovered almost 600ml after filtering. This we poured into a Mason Jar.

After simmering all night we proceed with the same filtering method and add about 350ml of water extracted Chaga to the Alcohol extraction.

There you have it, a dual extracted Chaga that is ready to use.

There is a lot of information available about the health benefits of Chaga and its high level of Antioxidants. We encourage you to do your own research on this topic.

Sort:  

You make everything look so simple in your vids. I guess they really are? I've seen Chaga collected in videos off of you tube but never found any myself. I know of it but never new how to make an extract with it. Again, you've taught me somethin' new and I thank you for that. It's really not that much different than making an herbal tincture. Time is the key as 2 to 3 months takes patience but well worth the efforts I'd say. Thanks as always for the lesson. I love this kinda'' stuff. I caught some of your older vids the other day on making soap and drying veggies. They were chocked full of great stuff too! Thanks to you and yours brother for taking the time to show us the way! ;)

My pleasure Brother, thanks for staying engaged. You are appreciated!

I love Chaga! I am curious- I have not heard of leaving an alcohol tincture undisturbed, but rather that it requires vigorous shaking every day for the several weeks, to permeate and extract all the good medicine. Is it not the case here since you will be simmering it in the water as well? Awesome post, following !!!

We hadn't come across anything indicating that the tincture process requires regular vigorous shaking, but it may warrant some further education.
Thanks for stopping by!

My pleasure! Great blog... I always love reading about making herbal medicines.... It is something important in my life too. This year I am renovating our herb gardens where we have some gems such as Skullcap and Astragalus growing, and I can't wait to uncover and rescue them from the vines!

Good luck, keep us posted on your progress!

Excelente. Todo lo que tenga que ver con salud, merece un resteem

Gracias!!!!

I have upvote you 👍

Saya sudah Upvote anda 😁

There is no need to tell people you upvote them....they can see.
Thanks

Buenísimo. Ya había visto la primera parte acerca del chaga y me pareció bien interesante. Imagino que hay más formas de destilar sus beneficios.
Saludos

Gracias por mantenerte comprometido!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75