COLOUR MY WINTER!!!

in #homesteading5 years ago

IMG_0290.JPG

Winter is always special when it comes with colour!!! I hate a drab grey winter. When I lived in the US, Fall was my favourite time of year, with its vivid autumn colouring before the drab grey of winter. Although with the arrival of chilly and depressing winter it usually wasn't long before the snow fell heavily. Then the world was transformed an exquisite white! That snow frosted cover made everything look cozy and ready to be rainbow painted in Spring! Here in our South African corner of the winter world the aloes bloom through winter. It is BEE-AUTIFUL!!

IMG_0153.JPG

Winter gives us a respite from the incredible heat of our sizzling Karoo summers. But it also means the countryside is dotted with beautiful shades of orange and yellow as the different indigenous aloes bloom. The aloes - covered with sunbirds, butterflies and bees - always inspire me. This year I finally decided to take that inspiration to the next level. Last week I harvested some of the prickly aloe ferrox leaves. After carefully peeling of the green thorned skin I made a gel of the softer transparent flesh inside.

IMG_0390 (Custom).JPG

Many of you know that I make an all natural range of body care products with the organic milk from my precious goats. The goats milk soaps are amazing but very boring in colour as I won't use colouring (which is loaded with preservatives) I haven't really taken the time to experiment with natural plant and spice pigments. Until last week. I blended chlorella into the fresh aloe gel. This dark green concoction was then carefully added into my newest batch of goats milk. And I absolutely love the earthy tones. It looks so much like avo .... but I would not advise taking a bite!

IMG_0335 (Custom).JPG

During the winter months I gave my imput to a graphic designer who came up with our stunning new logo. I really love it and am excited for the new "face" on my range. Not only does the packaging have a new look but the products inside are being tweaked.

IMG_0330 (Custom).JPG

The next goats milk soap I'm going to make will be with the tumeric, a natural anti-inflammatory. The golden spice promises to make a beautiful soap bar, as well as come with healing properties of its own! My Karoo Aloe soap will offer all the benefits of this powerful healing plant. In the goats milk soap aloe will be wonderful for skin conditions, the usual eczema and psoriasis but even burns and wounds. This one will be advertised specifically for a face wash. However people choose to use it I am really excited about my expanding range, and the new earthy tones! Watch this space for more colourful winter work!

IMG_0350.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Fun to learn more about you @buckaroo and the interesting products you are making. I hope you enjoy success in marketing them!

And you lived in the U.S. at one time? Do you have a post covering any aspect of that part of your life?

Posted using Partiko Android

You've been visited by @porters from Homesteaders Co-op. Oh such beautiful blooms! I have never seen the Aloe bloom before! Such creative ideas for your all natural soaps - oh I so wish you could ship them overseas! They look and sound wonderful! Thanks for sharing! --- Homesteaders Co-op A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com follow: @homesteaderscoop

I smell another curie coming SteemQueen, pity you only pop in every six months if not you'd be retired by now :p xx


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

So pretty, the colours burst into my eyes from my monitor's screen! And that soap looks so wonderful ! Both the soap and the packaging <3

This is awesome @buckaroo and will like to connect on Discord to learn more about making soap so that we can teach Earth Rangers how to make their own soap. Will be teaching them this week how to make powder detergents. Awesome green post and the soap my not look beautiful from without but its beautiful within.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85