You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BRANDY RAIN

in #homesteading6 years ago

Thanks @heatherthebard. I also don't take it too well whereas my husband distances himself. Your plan sounds like a wonderful one. But I've never had this problem with goats. I always plan their pregnancy so they kid in the warmer weather. This out of season rain may have broken the drought but it caught us off guard. Our lambs drop in the worst weather but they seem to handle it. Not goats. Perhaps you could email me the directions if they are more complicated? [email protected]

Sort:  

49C63559-8204-4C65-8F56-EA6350E8B22D.jpeg

All measurements are in inches since I’m in America... but the dimensions are flexible. Goat kids are way smaller than Angus calves. Ideally, you want the box small enough that you can get them in and out, but not so big they try to wiggle and scamper around in it (or crawl out!). We used 5/8” or 3/4” plywood for ours, but it is very heavy and again — bovines are bigger and heavier.

Just stuff the blowing end of your hair dryer in the hole as indicated, plug in and turn on. It will circulate warm air in the gap, which will then rise through the small holes you’ve drilled in the false floor. Cover the top with a towel or quilt and it will incubate poor frozen critters pretty nicely while you tend them.

Good luck!

Such a brilliant and easy idea. Thank you very much @heatherthebard. I probably won't need it as our weather is warming and I don't separate mothers and babies. But one never knows.

That’s good. I definitely agree it is best to not separate moms and babies, but you are right that you never know. I know having one built and ready to go has saved our bacon a few times, and it’s nice to know it’s there, just in case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67743.75
ETH 3805.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53