You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crazy Weather and a Little Visitor.

in #homesteading5 years ago

Those planters are so pretty! Do they have a base or open for deep roots? We are also having bizarre weather here. A couple days of jerseys and duvets followed by fans and dips in the water! Wierd. I like your sign on the apricot tree @minismallholding. Is the apricot tree enclosed? I've just posted about how our apricots have been devoured by the birds. I wish there was some way of putting all our trees under cover as we enjoy very little of the fruit

Sort:  

The planters are open at the bottom. I once grew a parsnip in one and the root went down past the planter bottom! I've refilled one of them twice now, putting cardboard at the bottom, but I keep getting couch grass coming through, which is frustrating. It's very persistent as that's a lot of soil to get through!

The apricot is fully enclosed in one of the chicken runs. I used to net it before they were built, but some of the birds would still sneak in! Last year rats got them all. There's always something, isn't there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64