You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do you think will save us, if anything? (in terms of climate action)

in #homesteading5 years ago

Your question is well-timed. And I appreciate the way you've worded it, which is different from the verbiage I see elsewhere. I get the impression you see it like I see it: Mama Earth is probably strong enough to heal herself, but we people inhabiting the planet are endangering ourselves by overwhelming the surface area where we might otherwise survive and thrive.

In other conversations, I hear people say that our planet is "wounded" and "suffering" and "dying," which may be true to some extent, although I personally believe she is capable of releasing the surface tension any instant with raging fires, earthquakes, hurricanes, volcanos... She has colossal powers we probably can't even imagine, I'm thinking, and beyond her is the entire cosmos with their astroid crashes and star novas and big bangs... But Mama Earth, she's very patient with us people, and she adjusts for us, I feel.

So I like the way you seem to make the focus about us people, and what we're doing to preserve our wellbeing by safeguarding the surroundings. To me, my effort right now is focused on one word: consumption. I recognize the strains of my over-consumption, and I'm working to remedy this for myself. I believe there's a large number of us who are looking at consumption now, and developing better, more sustainable patterns in this area. Conscious consumption feels like something we can all embrace as a value that is good for all life on this planet.

BTW, I'm fresh back on Steemit after nine months away. Glad to see you're still bringing your brilliance here. Hope life is treating you well.

Sort:  

I agree, it's not the planet that's in danger of dying, maybe a bit of reorganization, which has happened a few times already. However, it's us humans. And I wouldn't even go as far as talking about our biological species, but our culture and civilization. Our amassed knowledge, so fragile and precious, is in danger of going down the drain together with all the exploitation, unsustainable practices, and privileged arrogance, that we would like to get rid of anyway.
You know what, though? Since Mama Earth hasn't unleashed her colossal powers yet... does that mean we haven't been as bad of a problem as we could be? Or do we still have it coming?

Thanks for seeing eye-to-eye with me. Yeah, I think you're right things could be worse. I think we can thank that good old conscience for helping us (and our ancestors) to discern right from wrong along the way.

Jiminyumbrella-935x1024.jpg

hey cabe!!! welcome back!!! great to hear from you :) it's been a while! though my posting is less involved than before, i'm still here indeed :)

yes, surviving and even thriving i agree is indeed possible here... and yet our current situation as a whole is sooo much different than that.

But Mama Earth, she's very patient with us people, and she adjusts for us, I feel.

mmm so much love there.

and yes to less consumption! i believe that is a huge part of it. again, welcome back <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71