A PIGLET JUST DIED

in #homesteading6 years ago

Yesterday when I got to farm, I got the bad news that one of the piglets dad was planning to sell to a customer is dead. Having a little knowledge of what Post Mortem is; I ventured into the mission to look into the cause of the death

Funny me, I actually don't know what exactly I was to look for, but I examined the change in body color, the teeth, the body structure, but I was unable to determine the cause of the death.
IMG_20180318_161654.jpg

IMG_20180318_161817.jpg

IMG_20180318_161801.jpg

IMG_20180318_161718.jpg

Though I have no experience in this field, I was able to arrive at the following conclusions

That the piglet die not die due to any injury cos there was no mark on the body.
The death could not have been caused by nutrient deficiency cos the piglet was not thin and does not look as if it was underfed.
The death found have been caused by only one thing; DISEASE.

The challenge now is I cannot really say if it is a viral disease or bacterial disease. I guess I will have to learn just in case this happens next time so as to know what kind of treatment or precaution I need to apply to the farm in order not to loose any of the piglets again.

Sort:  

It's always sad to lose an animal ☹️

THANKS BOSS, IT IS SO SAD

I am sorry your piglet died. It is always sad. It is possible it ate something that hurt it's insides. I remember a piglet we lost back in the 1960's. My dad cut it open to see what caused it because there was nothing on the outside. It had swallows a piece of stick about 5 inches long and it had punctured it's intestine. It bled into it's belly.

I hope yours did not die from a virus or bacteria that the others could catch.

i also hope so

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82