RAISING OF FEEDERS TO REDUCE WASTAGE OF FEED

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20180427_102301.jpg

IMG_20180427_101740.jpg

Broiler birds are fond of wasting feed given to them while eating. They are animals and not human beings like you and I; thus, there is no way they can know that they are wasting feed. They need to be catered for and necessary precaution is to be taken so as to ensure the feed given them is not wasted.

Disadvantages of feed wastage in poultry management.

It leads to decrease in income.
The money that should be kept and which will serve as income for the farmer after sales might have need made would be spent on feed since the feeds have been wasted and they need to eat.

More money will be spent unnecessarily in procuring feed.

In case of experiment, feed intake cannot be accurately measured and it will be an error to calculate the feed conversion ratio.
When carrying out and experiment, it is normal to calculate the daily or weekly feed intake so as to use this in deciding the feed conversion ratio of the broiler birds after the period of experimenting on them. The wasted feed cannot be accounted for and this implies that the experiment is not complete.

Waste feed also contribute to increase in waste materials in their house and this can also increase the amount of harmful organisms which are detrimental to their health.

In order to ensure all this does not happen, I and my project mates raised the feeders containing their feed to chest level. What we did was:
We measured a rope and one end of the rope was tied to the hanging feeder and the other end tied to a plank which is on top of the pen in which the birds are. Below are some of the pictures I took while doing it
IMG_20180427_102141.jpg

IMG_20180427_102110.jpg

Below is one of my project mates trying to tie the other end to the feeder while I was on top of the pen doing my own part.

IMG_20180427_102010.jpg

I was so careful either not to fall from the top of the pen or break the wood used for the construction of the pen
IMG_20180427_101824.jpg

If you are a poultry farmer, try as much as possible to reduce wastage of feed would as not to reduce your income.

If you have any contributions to this topic, please do not hesitate to put it in the comment section. Thanks for stopping by.

Do not forget that if you will like to be celebrated on your birthday or you want me to join you in celebrating the birthdays of your loved ones just give me your details or the details of the person and I will do that.

If you have offended someone you so much cherish or really love and you want that person to know how sorry you are, feel free to contact me.

Remember IT IS CELEBRATION TIME!!! and everyone must partake in this.

IT IS FOR FREE

If you wish to contact me on discord, my

username is camillius2705

My whatsapp no is 08065698447.

Facebook I. D: BenediCamillius Ewuoso Henry.

You can also add me up on social platforms for me to be able to get across to all steemians.

Don't forget if you are a minnow and you need help, join the community that will help you. There are so many communities here on steemit that you can join. Do not be a "Lone Wolf" neither should you be "a one man battalion", get engaged on steemit.

If you also need advice on health matters or you need a doctor without visiting an hospital, join @air-clinic on discord >https://discord.gg/5Yc6ZH

Thank you for your time, I remain your humble boy @camillius.

Let the love we share on steemit know no end.

MY BRAIN THINKS and MY KEYBOARD TALK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82