You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Pros and Cons Of Off Grid Living

in #homesteading6 years ago

I'm envious of anyone that can pull this off. It has always been a dream of mine to accomplish this and be able to sit back and enjoy the outdoors and freedom that comes with living off the grid. The power would be my main sticking point and would require quite a sizable generator and solar/battery setup. I imagine I'd end up dropping up to 50k just for my power needs, as I am a power user. The other sticking point for me would be internet access. Right now I am spoiled with gigabit connections in the heart of a major city, so going to radio, cellular, or satellite would be brutal.

Sort:  

It's definitely an adjustment. On your Internet comments, you are very right: it is a huge adjustment. We have something like a 1Mbps connection (and that's megaBITS, not megaBYTES.) It's quite nasty, sometimes reminiscent of dialup. Of all the services we enjoyed in town, the only real one we miss is decent Internet. I used to have 100 Mbps or so, and man .. what an incredible difference. Definitely miss it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87