Chainsaw SharpeningsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading5 years ago

Over the past few years I have always bought a new chain when they got dull.

This year I needed to finish cutting up main trunk part of a maple we had cut a few years ago.

The wood was extremly hard and after purchasing 2 new chains I decided to try my hand at sharpening them myself. I had always heard stories of how diificult this was so I was worried that I would waste a lot of time trying to sharpen and end up having to get another chain anyway.

After buying two new chains without finishing the wood I decided to give sharpening a try.

I found that the angle on the sharpening guide has to match the teeth on the chain. Mine was 30 degrees. Also the diameter of the file has to match the teeth as well.

Filing should only be done in one direction... the file should be pushed in the direction toward the sharp part of the tooth.

This manual filing takes some effort and time but compared to the time it takes to run to the store and the cost of a new chain I found that it was worth it.

Happy sharpening!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I think hubby got fed up of buying new chains and bought himself a sharpening tool. You just go through them too quickly to keep throwing them out at that rate, don't you?

I've shared this post and given you a shout out in the Homesteaders - Living Naturally, newsletter. I hope we see lots more of you around.

Posted using Partiko Android

Last fall I had to take down a hard maple and I as well still have wood left over that needs cut up. Post is HERE. I have already cut up a bunch of it but there is more left to do. I took the chain in and had it sharpened a couple of times but I think it might just be time for a new one.

Yeah, the tree that this came from was overhanging our porch and during a storm a branch fell and it puctured through the porch roof. We decided it had to go before something similar happened to one of the bedrooms.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yikes...yeah good call taking it down! I took down my tree because a little earlier that year THIS happened. Before my garage or house got it the tree had to come down!

So do you still have the main trunk of your tree to cut? Just guessing from the last picture you showed on the post you linked to in your comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Correct, that trunk is still there...my chain saw is too small to make it all the way through it even if I go from side to side. I'm going to have to cut a notch big enough to get the chainsaw itself inside the tree to finish off the middle!

Congratulations @clifun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56