Prepping The Hens To Lay Eggs

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

AB674927-3A0A-42F3-8A34-16C96776AA14.jpeg
All I know about hens, chickens, and roosters is what my grandma shares with me in her childhood stories. I have country that runs in my heart, down in my blood, but my great grandpa sold our family’s dairy farm when I was about 3 years old. I remember being on the farm and we do go visit the farm every year to see what changes the new owners have done, but my flashbacks only come alive when my grandma starts sharing. I could listen to her for hours and hours.

So when my boyfriend got some hens this year I sort of knew what to do... but not really...

Me: “shouldn’t the ladies have some bedding?
BF: “naw... they’ll lay anywhere so it doesn’t matter.”
Me: [why are there Easter eggs in here?!] I questioned to myself.
4ACDAB12-A202-4A72-A681-B7F9C8E72AE0.jpeg
It’s not the first time chickens have been on the farm, so I took his word for the last few weeks. But this city girl really has to do her part on the farm to prove her heart is country. So I did what I know best, turn to @DaddyKirbs’ fanily group for some advice on how to encourage the hens to lay eggs!

I guess this is what he gets for leaving me alone on a Saturday while he goes to tinker on a combine to get it ready for harvest.

Here was the advice I received...

  1. Give the ladies some bedding! Thankfully, one of his friends came over a week before to cut the wheat pasture to get it ready to bale for the cattle soon to come.
    161FEA48-C020-434D-A0EC-435FDA49B0A0.jpeg
    I could have used one of these @DaddyKirbs’ totes shown here instead of a plastic bag. https://teespring.com/shop/daddykirbs-tote

  2. Add clean egg shells to their food for added calcium to produce their eggshells. I actually happened to be cracking eggs to make homemade frozen custard!
    E694F72F-96B6-4314-AD5C-6D722C7039CB.jpeg

  3. Place faux eggs in coop to encourage hens to lay in their nests. I poked holes in two extra eggs to empty them and take with me to the coop.
    2E264F6F-D347-46C4-B26F-1BA7FBF3D4A0.jpeg

  4. Feed them every once in awhile hard boiled eggs with the shells still intact. I didn’t do this, but I will eventually.

  5. Then some fun, playful ones such as, give them bacon, threaten them with a stew pot, give them a massage, and do the chicken dance! [Seriously, if you haven’t heard of @DaddyKirbs or are apart of the Fanily group.... you should!]

  6. By watching @DaddyKirbs YouTube channel, I knew to feed the hens garden scrapes. This weekend they enjoyed cucumbers along with onion, potato, and apple peels. Check out his chicken videos here... https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL4A2B206A3E507D20

One of the hens needed to stand guard to make sure I was doing everything correctly.
76088CD5-C8E0-44CA-BB94-42A0E555F0AB.jpeg

Enjoy the pictures!

9724D171-5B38-46F5-8B45-1C46FBC32034.jpeg

8322039E-5960-4D51-B830-818213CDCBB2.jpeg

2FCA6CAD-D2CB-460F-ABD6-56FE1AD6C635.jpeg
And you thought I was joking about the Easter eggs!

Blessings,

@CountryHeart aka Sandy

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been recommended by @countryheart to be the Global Homestead Collective's promoted post of the day. We invite you to use our tag #ghsc! Come join us on discord! https://steemit.com/ghsc/@ghscollective/today-s-promoted-post-countryheart

I have always wanted to raise chickens... hopefully someday I will be able to give it a go!

Also....

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!
You can find us on Discord - You Got Snekked Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71