You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saving Flower Bulbs - July 10, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Is is possible for bulbs to die naturally? Three years ago I bought a set of 4 lily bulbs. Bought 4 more. Six sprouted. A couple snapped. Next year Only five sprouted, and another snapped. Last year I had 4 and two snapped. This year I only had two sprout, and one withered before it blossomed.

Two years ago I planted about a dozen crocuses corms that were slightly sprouted. I gave them excellent top layer of soil, but the under soil was very compacted and filled with tree roots. Protected them all with a plastic screen buried in the soil to prevent squirrels from digging them out. None of them sprouted or bloomed ever.

Either they are rotting or something is wrong with the soil location I'm guessing.

I know what you're going to say. "Get a soil test!". lol

At least I'm having better luck growing ginger and turmeric. watching change in the foliage of these plants has taught me how to better guage when it can (and should) be dug up to let them recharge for the dormancy period. With bulbs we always leave them alone once they are naturalized, but maybe I should get into the habit of digging them up each year. I might learn that they are becoming diseased, eaten, shrinking, or being removed animals.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92