How is Luke? - Challenges, Progress and Showing Support

in #homesteading6 years ago

Many many people send me emails, private messages or comments on videos/posts asking this question.

How is Luke?

My normal response lately is "He's hanging in there... just kinda the same." but, I'd like to share some of the challenges and progress.

This photo below is one taken when I was in the garden tending to the new plants. I looked up and there was Luke... standing there, all alone and motionless. Most people do not understand or realize what I mean when I say he "just stands there". Look at his position in this photo. He literally stood there for at least 5 minutes like this completely motionless. The only reason he moved is because I just couldn't watch him like that any longer. I called his name and prompted some action. Without these verbal cues he can settle into a position and hold it for a very long time.

Challenges

Luke's smile has been a rare site over the last 16 months. His regression stole his joy and expression. Normally now he has this down turned countenance. In this photo with the kitty cat he was sitting very still in this chair for a good while. The cat took that as an opportunity to get some lap time. Notice Luke's hands. They are positioned under the cat. He's not holding the cat, that's just where his hands were when the cat jumped up there and got comfortable.

When we were at the nursery looking at flowers we took every opportunity to engage with Luke showing him flowers, asking him to smell them and to share his thoughts about how pretty they were. This is our effort to make him a part of what we are doing.

We still struggle with eating, drinking and sleeping.

Progress

In the last couple weeks we've seen Luke's smile more often. He seems to be "coming out of his shell" just a little. We've even seen him almost giggle a time or two! For the last 3 or 4 nights he has fallen asleep very fast and has maintained a decent sleep for more hours in a row compared to what has been normal for the last 16 months. He still sleeps sitting up but we are happy that he is actually getting some sleep.

Along with some smiles, giggles and sleep time another thing we've heard more is Luke's voice. Most of his communication over the last 16 months has been pointing and grunting (or very strained words). There have been moments recently where he has used his words without straining and even some pretty nice sentences!

We are seeing a new doctor that is offering a more holistic approach to his treatment. We don't know a lot yet so I don't want to say much about it, but we are hopeful.

Support

There have been several requests for me to get a PO Box for people to send Luke some love. I finally listened. Here is the address if you chose to send Luke a card or anything. He loves to see his name in print or in comments. There are no expectations here. I'm only putting this out there for those who have asked.

Luke Kirby
PO Box 392
Cibolo, TX 78108

Thank you for your continued prayers, well wishes and concern for Luke. We are encouraged by your love for him and us as we take this journey.



Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!



Win $10 SBD!

Don't forget to head over to my weekly "Cool Curator" Contest!

https://steemit.com/contest/@daddykirbs/be-a-cool-curator-a-daddykirbs-contest-to-win-usd10-sbd-8-week-7-winner-announced

Sort:  

A smile from Luke is one of the great joys I have during the live shows!
Sharing for others..

He gave a little show in the last one, right? He does have a way of lighting up a room when he smiles.

Yes he did! And it was worth it!

I shall keep Luke in my prayers. Miracles do happen and such I have witnessed.

I believe they do! Thank you :)

Prayers are free and yes I have also seen miracles...

Best wishes. This must be very difficult, but I hope you find the right holistic balance for him and that he keeps progressing.

Being a parent is hard enough, adding special needs triples every aspect of life for everyone, as parents they are rocking it!

Thank you @weetreebonsai for your confidence in us!

Thank you @donkeypong . It is a challenge, but we are always hopeful. Luke is an amazing man (even tho when I ask him if he is a man or a boy he says boy LOL). He brightens lives with every smile.

Still praying for you all!

Thank you :) I believe in the power of prayer.

I hope the new approach continues to help Luke improve!

Me too. We are waiting for the testing results, then we'll find out what the next steps are.

I'm glad that he is making some progress and I hope that he continues to do so. A holistic approach is probably a great idea as the medications now days are full of chemicals that cause reactions in the body.

Sending positives vibes your way!

The chemical pharmaceuticals are not my preferred method. That's for sure.

Please, please, please 🙏 Look into medical marijuana for autism.
Looking into it won’t hurt, just read into it. Please 🙏

We have. We are totally open to it. Here in TX it is not legal, so the best we can do is CBD oil which we just started a few nights ago.

💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗

@daddykirbs Could the progress be, in some way, due to the massage therapy? I would think that interaction, even on the receiving end, could help. Love this update. Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55