This video is BLOWING UP on YouTube! - Is it better on Steemit?

in #homesteading6 years ago

A Great Video?

Every once in a while I get a video that catches some wind in its sails. This time that video is about how I use lemons to make lemon powder! (the last two paragraphs of this post get to the real point of this post)

On The Rise!

Notice in this view of my statistics for this video (last 28 days) how everything is going up! Even the dislikes LOL. Getting views and watch time is critical for a creator on YouTube.

Without getting the attention needed to for these kinds of views most of my videos lately are stuck getting almost no views. Many of them lost in the vast sea of videos on YouTube. This is a struggle for creators on YouTube where the platform itself gets to decide how and when a video gets seen.

What's it like on Steemit?

Here on Steemit there is a similar struggle with getting seen, but the power is really in the hands of the users. This allows for more opportunity for growth and potential earnings.

A normal video, for me, in it's first week might make $2 - $4. That's it... that's in USD. Here an average post might give to me 5 SBD. That may not sound like a lot more, but consider the markets value for that SBD. Today, even in a dip, those 5 SBD would be worth over $37 USD.

Now, granted the video on YouTube has the potential to MAYBE SOMEDAY "take off" and make some money like this video is doing, but mostly after the first week if it hasn't done well it likely never will. Most of my videos on YouTube never make more than $5 USD. Most of my posts lately on Steemit (after learning and growing in this community) will bring in about 5 SBD.

To me, the effort of creating videos for YouTube alone is becoming hardly worth it, but now that I have the ability to share them here as well, it is very worth it.

Keep it up! We Grow Together!

In 217 days on Steemit my wallet is worth over $7000. That does not include the amount that I've taken out for investment in other Cryptocurrencies or personal use. This growth isn't because I'm a great creator. It's because of a great community!

A Community of Love

Some of that amount has come from people like @frugallady @ligayagardener @frostyamber @mnhomesteader and others over time who have gave gifts because they love their community.

Some users like @papa-pepper have shown over time how they are willing to be generous! He has reached out to individuals to learn how he can help. He is using his growth and "wealth" here on Steemit to change lives. This is a true expression of the love of Christ that has changed his life.

No matter what platform you use, no matter what content you share... Keep building community because that's what really matters. The "rewards" will go up and down, but the love we share with each other can last a lifetime. That love has more potential for growth too as we continue to share it. Don't hold back. Share and Love!


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

Cool video, thanks for sharing here! I'll have to subscribe to you on youtube as well. I just moved to a farm in Florida so once I get a little oven I'll be using your method to make my own powders!

Nothing is better than steemit! But thank you for your post!

Great post!

Id never even considered making lemon powder, but after seeing this I can definately see lemon, lime and orange powder in my future!

Lemon powder marketing useful and easy.

Let me know how you use them. I'm very interested :)

Im thinking about marinades and meat rubs!

Oh yes! Mix this with fresh course pepper and put it on some fish :)

First of all: I love the idea - thanks for sharing it with us!

My idea (I've only done this with raspberry and strawberry powder, and with powdered cinnamon, but I'm sure it also works with lemon powder because why not?):
Take 2 cups of granulated sugar, add about 1 or 1 1/2 cups of oil (e.g. jojoba or olive oil), and some lemon powder and you've got the perfect sugar scrub!

sugar scrub for bathing? That may sound like a silly question but I've never heard of a sugar scrub LOL

For showering or washing. The sugar crystals will removes excess skin particles (the dead ones) and makes the skin smooth, the oil will moisturise the skin - and the lemon powder will make the whole thing smell just amazing and perhaps even have a mild antibacterial effect.

Oh nice. Since the sugar is the exfoliate, I wonder if it can be replaced with another substance? Are there additional benefits to the sugar?

None that I'm aware of. I think it's neither beneficial nor detrimental to your skin.

Table salt is a good replacement. Sugar works fine, too, though. I suppose the replacement could be more or less anything with a crystalline structure that isn't toxic, but I'm most familiar with recipes containing either sugar or salt.

I had no clue what lemon powder was - until now. Thank you for the inspiration ;-)

You are very welcome. I'm glad you were inspired.

vote me and follow me

I'm glad you found a way to continue doing your good work with enthusiasm and some security. And your gracious thanks and acknowledgement to the community will be well taken I'm sure. Lemons are minor miracles. Like the fresh ones. Thanks for this post. Will follow.

Steemit has given me fresh hope that my efforts in content creation are "worth it"!

very nice dear, thanks for sharing it on steemit .

I'm glad you liked it :)

Yeah dear, followed.

vote me and follow me

I saw it on youtube.. But thanks for share it on steem

Do you make powders like this to keep in your pantry?

ok.. Let's go youtube and know about it.

Now, granted the video on YouTube has the potential to MAYBE SOMEDAY "take off" and make some money like this video is doing, but mostly after the first week if it hasn't done well it likely never will.

The short coming of STEEM, after 7 days, that's it. But, with YouTube, there is the possibility of some older video going viral and earn, even after you forgot about it. Of course, YouTube might change their rules again and it won't payout, but that's a whole nother ball of wax.

I wonder how much better STEEM could be at rewarding, if all the spam/bot accounts were removed. How much better it could be for content providers like @daddykirbs if there wasn't such a large pile of gunk to shift through in order to find good articles.

I agree that this feels like a shortcoming on Steemit that there is no long term earning potential from a post. It would be cool to if it were easier to sort through the posts to find those "nuggets" :)

Im more interested in the Lemon Super-foods and the Eco mindset ! But wow Congratulations! What a good 217 Days! The People on here are just awesome!! Thank you who ever is reading this!! Sending out peace vibes to you all! OMG i sound like a millionaire Hippy!
alt text

The community here on Steemit is very sincere and caring . I have a great core group on YouTube as well, but here, it seems, that inherently the community is stronger.

That's amazing I haven't looked at your videos on YouTube but when I get some time I'll look at them closer. We are all entering a new paradigm in information, in money and in awareness. I'm like you to be part of an amazing team that have just accepted steem as a platform for moving are fully transparent one-of-a-kind newspaper like publication. Where we will bring together authors blogger photographers publishers from developing countries. Giving hungries of people a chance to raise the standard of living. That's why I'm very excited to know that the community here is so strong. Once again thank you for reconfirming my initial feelings about the people here. Kindest regards Leo Bond

The people we are finding here at steemit are real people, they care!

As an investor i always say... out biggest investment is our education and our main investment is the people around us!

vote me and follow me

Wow !! that is great post @daddykirbs. I need lemon poweder @tuhin201

Thank you. Grab some lemons and get busy! LOL

vote me and follow me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75