🌱Homesteading and Horticulture 🌱

Good morning, afternoon and evening from me in England!


IMG_20190204_173752.jpg

I've just been out to my Polytunnel in our rather bijou cottage garden, to check on the tomato seeds I sowed last Sunday, and, voila! We have lift off!


IMG_20190204_180550.jpg


I bought the heated propagator from Ebay last year and it works a treat.
The unit has been designed to automatically maintain the compost temperature at 19 degrees Celsius (+/-2 degrees). The electric heated base is designed to transfer gentle heat to the compost – when the heat is on, it will feel warm rather than hot to the touch.


garland-fab-4-electric-propagator-1_7.jpg

Source


The Birds eye Chilli's that I grew last year,
Which are 100-200k SHU, still had a some fruits left on the plant so, I extracted the seeds amd left them to dry out for a few days. I've just planted them too so should have a good crop of seedlings in a month or so, thanks to the
Propagator!


image.jpg

Source


I look forward to the spring and seeing all the fruits of my labour! It really is a wonderful passion, horticulture and homesteading.


IMG_20190204_183654.jpg

All Photography Copyright © 2019 Darren Claxton

Sort:  

It's helpful to be able to get an early start on the growing season. Where I live, it will be winter for about 2 more months, so I won't be starting any seeds for a while. I usually start my tomato seeds in April, if I start any sooner, the plants get too tall and not strong enough to stand up by the time I can get them outside.

It's - 4c this morning Amber!
My little propagator is keeping the seedlings cosy.
If you pinch out the side shoots on your Tom plants, they will grow a thicker trunk.
Hope that helps.
DC🎼

Hey! Found similar post in WeKu. Are you posting there as well?

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice work I am waiting to move so don't want to get thins rolling yet on the growing front. I hope to get straight on it in the new gaff 💯🐒

Cheers mate!
Best to get settled in somewhere first.
Although these 80 quid polytunnels are bloody great.
I just run an outdoor extension lead out to it so I have light and heat.
Amazing results.

Nice where did you get it out of interest might invest in one when I move 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83