Soapwort Its Incredible Uses

in #homesteading6 years ago

20180509_131444 (2).jpg

I have been growing Soapwort now for two years and can not wait until the fall to make my first batch of soap. I got a recipe from a friend and I will share it with you.

First, lets look at how not to use this herb. Do not plant this herb near water that has any sort of fish, it will have negative effects (like killing fish) and though it will thrive, is not good at all for the area. Do not get it in your eyes, it will irritate. Though it is not necessarily poisonous it is not suggested for internal use, it can cause gastro issues.

20180509_131444 (3).jpg

Soapwort has been used for centuries as a mild cleaner. It can be used for laundry, shampoo, mouthwash, hand, face and body soap (without the harsh chemicals), from the 1600s to the early 1900s it was used as a cure for VDs, though there are side effects of using it internally which is why its use internally was discontinued.

I plan on using it as a personal and laundry cleaner. my skin is sensitive to harsh soaps, I generally use lye soap so that I do not get adverse reactions. Here is an easy recipe:

4 Cups of fresh (or 2 Cup of dried) leaves, flowers and stems
1 half gallon of distilled water
8 Tbs fresh mint (or 4 Tbs dried) leaves

Boil the water
Once boiling add the soapwort, boil for 15 minutes
strain through cheesecloth or similar into a glass container
add mint, while hot wrapped in cheesecloth (for easy extraction) let sit for 10 minutes (depending on how minty you want ti to smell)
The mint is optional, if you want a scent in it you may use any other fragrant flower or herb such as rose, rosemary, lemon balm, lemon basil, lavender, etc.

I will be using the roots I have read they will work far better than the leaves and stems but I have not heard of a recipe for how much to use, so I will be experimenting this fall. In the meantime I will be doing some cuttings this summer and giving it my first try.

Well please up-vote and follow if you like my content. I will continue to post similar articles on plants, homegrown foods, gardening and homesteading ideas. Again thanks for dropping in. Remember that this is not medical advice nor do I prescribe anything to anyone. This post is for educational purposes only. Your body is your temple, treat it well. Have a great garden!


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

That is really cool! I have never heard of soapwort before, thank you!

I am growing soapwort this year. It used to be in the herb garden but had died out. I will be looking for your soap recipe this fall!

Thanks for reminding me of this!! I had discovered soapwort a long time ago and was planning on someday trying it out!
Lovely photos and clear instructions, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94