Spring Thyme?

in #homesteading6 years ago

20180511_070403 (2).jpg

Thyme has a reputation that spans back through recorded history. At its origins, soldiers bathed in a thyme tea before battles in Greece (which killed bacteria and fungus, leaving a rejuvenated and healthier soldier) and it was burned at funerals. Later in the Middle-ages the wives of soldiers would weave thyme into parting scarves for their heroes.

It was quick to become an herb which was a regularly used throughout history. Here are some of the historical uses for the herb, for me it gives a really good base for understanding the benefits of this incredible herb. I have put this as close to historical order as I could.

A remedy for troubles o the mind
A flavor for cheese
A flavor for alcohol
Antivenom
Anti-poison
Coughs
Rheumatism
Nightmares
Menstrual problems
Strengthening lungs
Mouthwash
General oral hygiene
Antiseptic
Spasmolytic properties (muscle relaxant)
Antitussive properties (cough suppressant)
Expectorant
Antifungal
Antibacterial
Antioxidant
Anti-tumor

Thyme is an awesome addition to my garden. I grew it from seed that I started late winter 2017 (January). I grew well all spring and summer I transplanted it in the fall out of a bucket into the ground. At this point it looked as if it would not make it through the winter, but to my amazement and the help of some poop tea, it actually did really well, we had thyme all winter.

FallThyme2017.jpg

Thyme after transplant Fall of 2017

I use thyme for all sorts of things. One of the things I do is make a tea when my stomach is upset or if my kid has a urinary tract infection. This herb is amazing for its healing properties. It is a full bodied anti- fungal, septic, and bacterial, which lends to a healthy wash. The tea can be stored up to one week, though usually I run out before then. I drink a tea once in a while, because I like the taste with a honey sweetener. The tea is very good for your body and will help to cleanse the system of even E. Coli. The best thyme is at flowering thyme!

20180511_070403 (3).jpg

Flowering thyme contains significant amounts of vitamins A and B-complex,also it contains minerals like calcium, potassium and magnesium. The flowering parts of thyme contain an essential oil consisting of the compounds thymol and carvacrol. These compounds give the leaves and blossoms of the flowering thyme its aroma and taste. Thyme also contains tannins, bitter compounds, and organic acids, which all together have significant digestive benefits, also antibiotic, antibacterial and antioxidant properties. Overall, ingesting thyme is believed to be ideal for maintaining good health.

Well please up-vote and follow if you like my content. I will continue to post similar articles on plants, homegrown foods, gardening and homesteading ideas. Again thanks for dropping in. Remember that this is not medical advice nor do I prescribe anything to anyone. This post is for educational purposes only. Your body is your temple, treat it well. Have a great garden!

Citing

Balick M. 2014. Rodale’s 21st-Century Herbal. Emmaus, Pennsylvania: Rodale Books.

Hemphill I. 2006. The Spice and Herb Bible. Toronto: Robert Rose Books.

Leaf Mother, https://leafmother.com/thyme/

Jarić S., Mitrović M., & Pavlović P. 2015. Review of Ethnobotanical, Phytochemical, and Pharmacological Study of Thymus serpyllum L. Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine : eCAM, 2015, 101978. http://doi.org/10.1155/2015/101978

Johnson RL, Foster S, Low Dog T, Kiefer D. 2010. National Geographic Guide to Medicinal Herbs. Washington, D.C.: The National Geographic Society.

Staub J. 2008. 75 Exceptional Herbs for your Garden. Layton, UT: Gibbs Smith.
World Health Organization. 1999. WHO Monographs on Selected Medicinal Plants, Vol. 1. Geneva: World Health Organization.

https://www.naturalnewsblogs.com/medicinal-thyme-history-modern-uses/
https://www.history.com/news/hungry-history/a-brief-history-of-thyme
https://www.herbal-supplement-resource.com/thyme-herb.html


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

Great write-up. Thanks for all of the valuable information.

I really love herbs, it just amazes me that such powerful ingredients are smashed into one plant.

I am creating a new thyme bed in the New Herb garden this year, if I can ever get to it...

Yea I am making room for an entire bed for thyme and one for oregano... I just picked up two pick-up loads of poop, and have three or four more to go.

That'll keep you outta trouble for a while....

ah, its just a bunch of sh@# i tell ya

Awesome, amazing thyme! How much do you put in one cup of tea? I have thyme growing and it, too, grew all winter.

i fill a tea ball per 2 cups so about 3 tbs fresh per qt. 6 tbs dry per qt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02