DIY garden furniture for the little one.

in #homesteading6 years ago

Well, this is one of the things that I achieved this weekend. Some DIY garden furniture - Ka Pow!.

Two things that I really love about this are;

  • It cost me nothing more than my time and energy.
  • Its made from recycled materials that were destined for the bin.
Making this little chair had been on the cards for a while, my daughter who absolutely loves playing in the garden and greenhouse does like to sit down every now and again and sometimes its just nice to park her in one spot while she potters on. Normally filling my wellies with soil, water or both while I’m not looking.

I’m not going to lie I’m rather impressed with myself for this, I think it got a cool rustic look that looks like it was thought out. Even though I can wholeheartedly say I freestyled it from the mind's eye…

The materials


My father had recently put up a new fence in their garden and had a few foot long bits of 3x2 offcuts and also a few 6foot lengths that I’ve got earmarked for another job and a fair few 10” offcuts of fence boards. In passing, he had asked if they would be any use and without any hesitation, the answer was yes and loaded into the car.

How Its made


I needed the DIY garden furniture to be strong as the wife would kill me if anything happened to our little one due to my handy work so I utilised half lap joints were ever possible and a good amount of screws.

The half lap joints were done on my mitre saw once the depth had been adjusted. It’s the first time I've done it this way and I've got to say it was a breeze taking minutes to create a strong a pleasing looking joint.


What’s next


I think it will need a small table to compliment it as a space to rest toys, food and drinks while she is busy adventuring

Also, I didn’t glue it so I could take it apart if needed to tweak any bits, I was thinking of doing some carving on it but I’m a bit worried that ill wreck it, so I may give it a miss.

Its got my daughters seal of approval and shes more than happy that she has somewhere to sit while giving out the orders on what needs to be done, which for a 3-year-old normally revolves around the capture of pesky worms spiders and bugs or what treat she wants to eat

All the best

Dan :- )

Sort:  

That's a nice little chair.
I do most of my half lapping in a similar manner, cut a bunch of kerfs then knock the bulk of the waste out with the chisel handle and clean it up with the blade.

Thanks, I'm pretty pleased with how it came out given I was freestyling. 👍

I prefer freestyle, it's easier to work around variables and is more fun.

Totally agree 👍

That's fantastic Dan! I have a small rocking chair that a dear friend made (when my now nearly 19 year old was a toddler) that is STILL hanging around LOL! Handmade crafts like these are true treasures :)
Congrats!!! Now time to build a tiny table to match 🤣😎⚒🔨

Thank you @madamelv 😬Wow that rocking chair has lasted well. Totally agree with handmade crafts been special. I've already been tasked by the little one to make a table 😁 so that up date will follow once the weather settles down in the UK .

Looks great! I keep every piece of scrap wood down to the saw dust I collect in my shop vac, you never now where it can be used next.

Haha that made me laff, not thought about saving the sawdust 😂 🖒

A little wood glue and sawdust and it makes a great wood filler. If it matters only use sawdust from the same project for fine woodworking.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.28% upvote!
I was summoned by @digitaldan. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of @youarehope and @tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70245.15
ETH 3761.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99