Inclusive gardening with the family

in #homesteading6 years ago

One thing that I really want to improve in my own little green world is how much we use from what we grow, sounds simple as i could do the following

Grow more
Pick more
Eat more

Again, in theory, sounds good but unfortunately due to work I'm not always around to pick things when they are at their peak and to cook a wonderful meal for the family.

Again this shouldn’t be an issue as I have a wonderful Wife but again, unfortunately, she’s not the most confident when it comes to gardening, let alone growing, picking and eating things from it.


How im planning to tackle this

If you look back at a couple of my posts about painting rock I came up with an idea

our rockpainting efforts

So the plan is to make a good selection of these stones that can be placed around the veggie plot so when my daughter and wife are exploring the garden they can easily identify what something is, feel it, smell it, taste it and hopefully pick more and make some delicious food with it.


This is my quick test with more to follow,


They were done with sharpies both black and silver seemed to show up best then a quick coat of outdoor gloss varnish that makes them both durable and really pop!


What do you think? Anyone experience similar challenges trying to get family involved with their green movement, and got any tips?

I'll put some pics up once the gloss has dried and their in place in the garden

As always thank you for stopping by! Don’t forget to leave a comment, upvote, re-steem or follow if you like what you see.


All the best

Dan

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

A fab idea!!!!!

I'd love to hear your wife's story....

Hmmm not sure how I'd approach that one, She is amazing and it would be an interesting one to tell, but she is a private soul and very much avoids revealing much on social media etc so me putting out a post about her is unlikely out of respect., much like we treat our daughters privacy. (hope that makes sense) i'll have a ponder on that one 🤔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97