My Apothecary - Chamomile

in #homesteading6 years ago

I have decided that Mondays I will be sharing My Apothecary.
I have been foraging for plants for many years, and I have decided to share what I have been collecting.
This is also helping me get everything catalogued and organized. Seems like a win win for everyone!

Please know that I do not sell my remedies, and I am not a doctor. My advice is to research everything. We should always be mindful in what we do to heal our vessels, our body. Many of these remedies are good for the spirit to. We are all spiritual beings, the plants are just and connected to mother earth as we are. Even more so.

It is very important to honour all beings, with respect and love. There have been times that I have gone to pick medicines, and I have heard NO. I offer the tobacco and give thanks for the wisdom.

Everyone has the knowledge to their own path of well being.


source

Benefits of Chamomile:

Boosts Immunity
Reduces Stress
Promotes Sleep and Treats Insomnia
Treats Cold
Reduces Muscle Spasms and Period Pain
Soothes Stomach Ache
Treats Cuts, Wound and Skin Conditions
Helps with diabetes

I love this little plant. It comes back year after year. It reminds me of a feverfew, or a tansy. I loved these smells as a kid. Still do!

I often put a pot on the woodstove, and throw in a little chamomile to simmer. It's like a diffuser of calm! LOL
When the kids were little and teething, I would put a dishcloth that I soaked in chamomile tea, into the freezer. I would let them gnaw on it until the throbbing pain stopped.
So many uses for this great little plant, and it looks pretty in the garden too. There is something about harvesting the little flowers, very therapeutic.

I have also used chamomile teabags moistened for eye problems, like pink eye, and for bite stings. It provides almost immediate relief!
Chamomille has been apart of my apothecary for many many years. One my old favourites.

20180528_111410.jpg

I use it fresh, dried and as a tea.

Dried
I pick the plants around 10 am. After the dew and moisture are off the plants. I hang them upside down in small bunches to dry in a warm area out of the sun. You could also use a dehydrator. I also lay them out on a sheet, off the ground, they dry fairly quickly. I run my hands through them to mix them around, to dry evenly.

Tea
Using fresh or dried flowers/stems/leaves, lightly crush and add to boiled water. Let steep for desired time. Teas are good for internally. I also use strong teas for baths, compresses, and washes.

Sort:  

I just got done trimming up my plants over the weekend and have some flowers to dehydrate. LOVE this plant and flower and ALL the medicinal properties it has

Purrrrr. One of my favorite plants to work with. Dried, tinctures, flower essence, infused oils oh my!!! ☺️🐾🌱🐾

I am so thankful that you gave me some chamomile to grow in my medicine garden. I really enjoy the tea so having fresh from the garden will be awesome! Planning on making super teas when mixing these along with others, just hope they taste good after mixing lol.

It is such a staple! I hope your children's children will love it. Xoxo you can always add honey.. lol

Do you prefer german or roman?

Up here i have grown both. I like them both. German is my favourite. The Roman comes back every year. What's your favorite?

I do like them both. Here in Alaska I thought either way I would probably be planting seed every year. However my roman came back this year after a 40- below winter. So it made me appreciate it even more. Lots of love for chamomile.

This is my favorite tea and it's so useful! I like using it in soaps.

Ohhhh soaps!! I have used it in my skin salves!! Should have added that! Thank you for that reminder!!!

Congratulations @earthmother! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99