Old Fashioned Comfort Food

in #homesteading6 years ago

Ohhhhh I remember creamed peas on toast!

20171226_155649.jpg

Every once in a while Avia asks for it. I add grated cheddar cheese.
Once in a while I make it with broccoli and put over mashed potatoes!

I remember making them for myself in grade 8 home economics class. I was so excited! I made it for my Mom, Dad and sister every chance I got.

I remember the boys got separated into shop class, and the girls into home economics. I always was a little jealous that they made cool stuff like canoe paddles and fixing cars!! Someone always got hurt! It was awesome!

We got pot holders and made cream peas. I still have the half finished pair of shorts with the zipper in backwards.

All this floods back with just one pot of cream peas!
Ahhh the comforts of winter :)

20171230_090608.png

Peace and love to all!
Xoxo

Sort:  

I haven't made creamed peas in ages! Thanks for reminding me. I think we'll have some soon! On toast of course!

I can't stop smiling! It's one of those foods you can't forget the taste of. If that makes any sense?!
Enjoy!

O M G!!! I completely forgot about that. I remember eating that when I was a kid too! How cool! Thank you for reminding me. How awesome is that!

:D it's just one of those foods ... they come with memories! Lol

This is awesome. Can I have a taste

I know these people will not forget your dish so easily

I made it for my Mom, Dad and sister every chance I got

Have you ever had them? It's butter, flour, and milk. :) I would send you some in a heart beat!
Happy new year my friend!

Hahaha.... I will really appreciate that

I would send you some in a heart beat!

Happy prosperous year

Congratulations @earthmother, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2788 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1913.76. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Yum ... creamed peas! I am so happy it helps keep you warm. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01