You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Relishing the Rain!!! A Homestead Perspective

in #homesteading6 years ago

It is time for some solution making here... I'm sure we will find a solution... Even if it is to just camouflage the pile this fall!

Anyone spare any plastic flowers? Hahaha

omg that made me laugh!!!
I so get it. I have created three 5x5 snow fenced compost bins. it seems to be working really well. keeps it contained. I use 1 a year, so it is a 3 year rotation. I like to bake mine for 2 years, to be safe.

I know what you mean about the water. we also collect here. I am getting a little concerned with my levels. Having extra animals has been a drain on the water that I wasn't really figuring out properly. This year I laid leaves and straw everywhere there wasn't a plant, to help keep the moisture in the garden. just hoping that it isn't an invite for the extra bugs that will eat the whole thing. Always something to figure out :)

Sort:  

I am so happy you laughed... I was laughing as I wrote

Don't put your all your eggs in one basket!

I was laughing remembering your spring slip on the way to the coop...

I am looking into different solutions for human waste from the main house... My guy's one must have is a flush toilet... Year 3 in the house, I will need a plan soon.

How do you store your water? Is it a big job to expand? I am grateful I haven't hooked anything together yet, I manually switch which tank fills.

i have 55 gallon drums for the now. I want to bury a 500 gal water tote. I move water all the time. I have a few faucets on the drums, so that they run in series. I am looking at making a bath house. i have a propane hot water on demand...waiting with my name on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83