Wild Seed Vault Collection - Is it OTT / Obsession?

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hello Folks,

I've been sourcing many veggie seeds over the last 4 years from various outlets and have built up quite a collection. On top of this I have also been saving Butternut Squash seeds, Runner Beans, Apple seeds, etc. etc. but now I think I've entered into the OTT realm of seed saving...

Even though there is an abundance of wild veggies out there and the chances of them not being available for foraging at some later date is miniscule, I've deciding to start a 'new' seed collection on the hedgerow / roadside / meadow food-stuffs.


Nestled amongst the bottles of 'conventional' seeds below are some you wouldn't normally think of collecting due to the vast quantities out in the wilds and yet I've got this urge to start saving them?!? Strange eh?

20180707_163423.jpg

btw, don't worry folks, those bottles with the 3 runner beans and a handful of potatoes seeds in are a fraction of what I already hold in other containers :)

I've got dried Stinging Nettles, Plaintain (Greater & Ribwort) and also a load of Pendula Sedge seeds. I'm hoping to add Rose Hip, Hawthorn, Crab Apple and many others as the year rolls on.

20180707_163432.jpg
20180707_163449.jpg


Do you guys think this is barmy of me to spend time on this collection or is it a prudent move? Please let me know what you think :)

Bye for now,
Eggy

footer2.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Hi @pennsif,
I greatly appreciate you're support of my little seed storage project :)
Cheers,
Robster.

images.duckduckgo.com.png

Totally needs the tag #prepper on it :D i've got a fair old collection of seeds but mainly vegetable seeds, i can think of many worse ways to spend you time, and if the SHTF i'd rather have them than not.

from a veg seed point of view, are you savy with the term F1 or "hybrid" seeds? A lot of veg may not grow true to the traits you had seen unless it is a stable strain normally seen around F9+ or what is classed as a heirloom plant.

most of my vegetable seeds are heirloom variety s as yourself I'm keen on saving their seeds for the future

I think I've got a mixed bag of seeds, some heirloom and others God knows ;) I've not looked through them in a couple of years.

Yeah, I should have gone with a #prepper tag LOL

"Until it's gone, we don't miss'em!" (my seed storage theory)

Have you tested any for viability either? something I'm trying to get my head around as I plan on saving loads of seeds this year. Just ordered a 100 jiffy bags to help sort/store the seeds.

surprised I'm not on some government watch list, for the grow lights and jiffy bags and other random stuff I order 😅 they'd be guttered if they turned up to check on my salad...

Keep up the great work, and let me know if you want to trade any seeds later on in the year 👍

not done any testing Dan, more fool me I guess. I've got the wild edibles knowledge to fall back on if all else fails :)

We're probably all on some watch list.......... just how far up might be the concern ;)
Veggie-jihad-ninja risk or summat LOL

Thanks again and I'll bear that in mind :)
btw would you be interested in 50 or so of my red potato seeds? I planted 14...., 11 sprouted, 1 was dug up by a cat and 2 have failed to mature so I've got 7 plants that look relatively healthy (one even has flowers on again so I might be able to get more seeds). So that's a 50% success rate I guess.

Get More Upvote - FREE

steem.link/sbd

Get 0.1 Steem free on signup !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68621.95
ETH 3745.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43