January Week 3 - Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

farmstead farmsteadsmith chickens langshan easteregger rooster

January 14th


The **weirdest** thing happened with the quail today, it was like they were stuck in slow motion! (See first video!) Weird sounds I’ve never heard from them before. Usually they run quickly! And make louder noises! Someone said that their quail do this after they’ve seen a predator, I guess... I don’t know that doesn’t make a lot of sense to me, but it’s a possibility for sure!

Got EIGHT eggs today! Haha tied with my “high score” from the summer. So once I get 9, I’ll know half of my of-age hens will be laying. Found an “oopsie egg” too, one hat was just laid on the ground in a random spot. This always makes me laugh because I just imagine that the whole egg laying thing takes her by surprise, and plop! Lol

One of the Langshans figured out how to hop up on top of the fence, darn it all. I was hoping they’d not feel like doing that, ever. Haha

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken langshanfarmstead farmsteadsmith chicken langshan

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken egg chickenegg welsummer

I got one of the most pretty eggs today. Spotted eggs, I just find them sooooo beautiful.
Got some excellent shots of my little olive Egger rooster, he is sooooo pretty. His coloring just blows me away! In the first picture of him below, he looks like a farmer with that grass sticking out of his mouth! Cracked me up!

farmstead farmsteadsmith chickens faverollesfarmstead farmsteadsmith faverolles chickens chickenbutts
farmstead farmsteadsmith rooster chicken oliveeggerfarmstead farmsteadsmith rooster chicken oliveegger

Finally got all the Christmas stuff stored out of the house! haha just a generally lazy Sunday. I spent a lot of time watching the chickens today.


January 15th

Nothing terribly exciting today! I ran errands so that consumed me. But! I got six eggs today and miss Australorp is still laying in her rogue nest in the rose bush thorns... I am just so amazed by this little roosters coloring. I stare at him a lot... which just give him the wrong idea because he thinks I’m one of his ladies that he can “woo”. (See video) sorry his actions are difficult to see because of the angle. But before I tell him I’m not his girlfriend he does his little “seduction dance” haha. Silly guy. But I’d rather be woo’d than attacked, so I’ll take it. The last pic is of his hatch-mate sister, she’s pretty too. I love her dark beard.



farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken rooster colorfulfarmstead farmsteadsmith chicken oliveegger pullet

Went to town to buy chicken feed and pine shavings from Fair Feed, and visited my besty. Overall, even though it was foggy again today, it was a decent day. Oh and I cooked my first beef steak and husband gave me a high five for it! Haha


January 16th

farmstead farmsteadsmith sunrise sky

Was a busy house-work ish day for me! It does not sound like a lot, but it was a lot for me! I swept (like even under the couch and rug, I did it for real) and vacuumed, did all the laundry, washed the couch blanket, scooped the chicken poop from the coop, emptied the dishwasher, made myself and ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Haha

farmstead farmsteadsmith chickens oopsieegg egg faverollesfarmstead farmsteadsmith eggs chickeneggs

An "oopsie egg", as I like to call it, and three eggs before 9am! Eggcelent!

Spent time outside since it wasn’t foggy and was relatively warm! I got six eggs today, and my little rooster was a ham for the camera. He’s trying to sweep me off my feet with his “seduction” tactics. He’s pretty confused I guess. I definitely prefer this "attention", vs a rooster trying to attack me, that’s for sure. But he’s so pretty, he’s my little sunset rooster.

farmstead farmsteadsmith rooster chicken


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Please Consider Supporting:

  • @rhondak, she runs a much needed and severely underfunded Dog Rescue in the Appalachian Mountains. She uses the funds she earns on Steemit to save lives.

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

Photos by me using my iPhone 8+, unless stated otherwise!


If you EVER want to get ahold of me for any reason, please join us on our Discord, Homesteaders Online. You can always find me there.

Homesteaders Online


@daddykirbs @allforthegood

Sort:  

You have the most beautiful chickens, the bearded one made me laugh. That dance, lol.glad things are going well on the farmstead😉🐓

Awehhhh thanks! They are so pretty, aren't they? Especially my young little roo. I can't believe the colors on him!

I am stealing one of your photo's if that is OK with you. I want to get it printed and hang it in my 10 X 16 garden shed right above my planter bench. This is my motivation to get my chickens one day.

I guess it's okay! Only cause I "know" you! Hahaha. It'd be nice if it was one with a watermark. Haha.

Yesterday and today have been the slow motion for me too here! It seems as though no matter what I did or do, nothing got done.

I must have the winter blues or something- plus all the outside distractions this week. I swear everyone here is betting on who can annoy me the fastest and best!

He's giving you the eye!

He's got the biggest crush on me, he is always trying to seduce me with his "woo dance". Hahah. But he is the prettiest little rooster I've ever seen. I love the little hearts on his chest.

I've been working on getting over a cough cold these last days, and yesterday I got nothing done at all. As it often happens for me in the winter as well.

Sorry people are all being turds. Maybe time to take a break, walk around, spend some time for yourself. That doesn't always help me, but, it's good for you anyway. Haha

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:54:40
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69512.95
ETH 3883.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73