January Week 4 - Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

farmstead farmsteadsmith eggs chickens chickeneggs

January 21st

farmstead farmsteadsmith dog squeakersfarmstead farmsteadsmith dog squeakers

Squeakers often has her tongue hanging out when she is deeply relaxed. It seems to be a hard feat for a little chihuahua to get fully relaxed, so I feel privileged when I do catch it. I bought her also a tiny little fox, to cuddle, she wasn't sure what to make of it... I ended up giving it to the cat. He plays with it all the time.

Only 7 eggs! Dang. But it was SO WINDY (See videos! My biggest rooster even had trouble...), I wouldn’t want to lay eggs either. Lol


January 22nd

farmstead farmsteadsmith egg easteregger chicken blue

11 eggs today! All three of my Easter Egger gals laid their beautiful blue eggies for me today! Man, I wonder when I’ll get eggs from all 18 of age hens?! We’ve got like so many eggs right now, it’s amazing that just a few short weeks ago, we had to buy eggs at the store!

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken eastereggerfarmstead farmsteadsmith eggs

Man, I got a video of Squeakers trying to play with Dutch, it is the absolute cutest thing! I think she’s feeling real good now! She’s so excited to eat, now that she can, effectively. Lol she hasn’t once tried burying her food since we’ve switched her to a wet(ish) food. She seems like she has more energy and is brighter.

One of my chickens jumped in my shoulder today, that was a first. I was mortified that she may poop on me. Thank goodness she didn’t! Lol she was just chatting away on my shoulder, weirdo.
It was a rough day though. Motivation was non existent and I just felt completely immobilized. I don’t know what was going on with me, but I hope it’s better tomorrow! I’ve got things!

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken pullet oliveegger


January 23rd & 24th

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken eggs

Yesterday and today have been so darn windy. It’s been terrible. I hardly get a chance to visit with the chickens!

Last night at dusk we had to repair the coop door because it was basically blown off the hinges from someone not being careful enough when it was opened. But I got 12 eggs yesterday! My first dozen eggs in one day!! Up to 30mph winds today - but it was coming from a little bit different direction so the coop door wasn’t as much as a problem. Been pretty lowly probably due to the wind and lack of sun. I walked a little around the property. Man, it’s still definitely winter. I can’t wait to see things growing again.

farmstead farmsteadsmith gucks geese ducks
farmstead farmsteadsmith gucks geese ducks

During a good gust of wind, one of the geese caught enough air to get over their 4ft fence. I was a bit worried to see that because the geese and Koodge don’t have the best of relationships. Had to herd Koodge away from that goose. Trying to catch it to put it back in its pen, our not so great fence was kinda bending in the wind and it climbed over it. Ok, that works for me. I wasn’t looking forward to grabbing it anyway! It was one that usually tries biting me. Haha

Poor little Squeaker lady got plowed into by Dutch the bowling ball dog. Poor thing she screamed cause he got her right in the face with his back knee. She screamed when I picked her up, then was happy to be picked up. And screamed when I put her down. She seems to be ok though! As she was perfectly excited and ate her dinner faster than the big dogs. I think she screams when startled. Whenever she gets startled or "hurt" she always is down for a deep cuddle.

We got 12 eggs again today, but one wasn’t edible. However! We sold our first 2 dozen eggs today. Husband took some to his work in Bend! What an accomplishment! It feels nice to actually need to sell some!


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Please Consider Supporting:

  • @rhondak, she runs a much needed and severely underfunded Dog Rescue in the Appalachian Mountains. She uses the funds she earns on Steemit to save lives.

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

Photos by me using my iPhone 8+, unless stated otherwise!


If you EVER want to get ahold of me for any reason, please join us on our Discord, Homesteaders Online. You can always find me there.

Homesteaders Online


@daddykirbs @allforthegood

Sort:  

The chickens are finally laying well, now you just have to figure out what to do with all the eggs. :-)
I hope February is treating you better than January was, winter depression can be a real struggle! I have to deal with it myself.

Yes! We've begun selling our eggs to my husband's Co-workers. In the swanky town - we get $4 a dozen! I feel like we could have gotten 5, but, ah well, too late now! Haha.

I am feeling a bit better this month, but I am still just pretty groggy all the time, which is so frustrating!

Yes, I still feel groggy a lot myself, I call it the hibernation urge. :-)
Those poor chickens really didn't like that wind very much, did they...
Do you ever go over to the chat groups on discord?

I am on our Homesteaders Online group, and that's about it. :D

That's a good place to start. :-)

OH I am so glad you found me and you have a chi too!

I miss coloured eggs so I am going to get some easter eggers this Spring I think,

Following now too!

Yes! We actually just got her in late December! I'll be posting her story sometime in the near future!

Only one of my EEs is laying regularly right now. Had some hiccups with the other two that I hope fixes soon. Ugh.

I actually just got back from our local grain feed animal store as they just got in their first batch of Spring chicks and Ameracaunas were in the mix, so I had to get four. One is already super friendly and immediately comes to my tapping finger to eat when I say 'chick chick chick'. When they get older I am going to put one of my two pure bred lavendar cochin bantam roosters with them and see what sort of new breed I could get from them! I love chickens and this time of year when we get new chicks at all the local farm places!

I bet that one is a rooster! Hahaha. My most friendly chicks have turned out to be little boys. Oyyye. Hahah. Can you share some pics of its comb when you can actually see it? I've read (and experienced) that if their pea come has three rows, that they're typically a boy! I'd love to see if it's true for you too! I also found out that most, not all, of the white easter egger chicks are boys. Hahaha.

That video of Squeakers and Dutch is a hoot! Sounds like a good cuddle and a meal fixed her scare.

Those are some serious winds. Glad the goose co-operated and re-hopped the fence.

Cheering on the egg brigade... GO GIRLS!!

I find it hilarious when she tries to instigate play with Dutch. And then when he tries to play back, she just runs away. Haha. She doesn't do it with Koodge, but Koodge doesn't play very much anyway.

I caught that... Fiesty is all well and good, but MOM! SAVE ME!! Too funny!

OMG! The video of Squeakers trying to play with Dutch was so cute and funny. LOL! And the I read that his knee got her in the face...poor thing. I bet she saw stars. I bet that chicken shocked you when she jumped on your shoulder. She is beautiful and so are your eggs! : )

Isn’t it the funniest thing? You should see her at feeding time!! I’ll try to get a good video of it someday! Haha

best life with vikings life where nature meets its endless beauty and peek of passion to love, live, pace and care. Goat, Hen, Duck and dogs are most common known animals that we love and want to grow them. But with time and our modren life can not take these animals with our life. so we live with out them. but some people are have gifts from LORD to keep them these animals as pets and have much fun in life.
@farmstead thanks and also thank to lord to stay all blessings on u.

Funny that you say "vikings" as I am a viking in my heritage! I love animals, I have so much of a connection with them. Thank you so much for stopping by. :D

this is a exceptional photography dear
your article is good
thanks for sharing for animal photo

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 18:23:34
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 15.30/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68498.38
ETH 3905.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66