Celebrating 18 Years! - Becoming a Man Overcoming Many Challenges

in #homesteading6 years ago

Today is one of the monumental birthdays, "18"!

As like most parents, I sit in awe that one of my children is actually "18"! While I am sad to see how time has passed I am also grateful to see the young man he has become today.

Espen has always been one of those boys that has to keep up with his older brother. Which means a life full of Adventure!

Steemit Mom @findingjoy Divider Image

This adventurous boy has overcome a lot in his life.

At the age of 12 he was around a chimmey stove and got to close and was burned on his face. Although the doctors worried about his charred breath and his corneas, he healed beautifully. I praise God for his healing. Looking at Espen today you can not tell that he was burned.

The Chiari Journey

A year later, Espen was experiencing some symptoms and I prompted my doctor for an MRI. The MRI revealed he had Chiari malformation 1. We spent a year researching and going to different doctors until we felt confident that Espen needed the surgery. So at the age of 14 Espen went through a 6 hour brain surgery. That was probably the most scary time in my life. The healing from that surgery was painfully excoriating. It still brings tears to my eyes remembering the pain he went through. He has made a wonderful recovery. If you ask him if he is glad he did the surgery he says, "Absolutely".

Since the surgery he continues to live life to the fullest.

The Character of a Gentleman

A Gentleman is defined as a chivalrous, courteous or honorable man. This is what Espen grown to be. He is a friend to many and loves to serve others. For the past 3 Summers he has been a lifeguard at a local pool. This job is good for him because he gets to know people and be available to serve them as they enjoy their Summer fun. Another job he loves is working at a local coffee shop. There he smiles, chats and serves up a great cup of coffee. We are very proud of him!

Adventure Awaits!

He still tries to keep up with his older brother, it will always be a contest. I will sit back with @daddykirbs and find joy in seeing the man Espen has grown into be.

Steemit Mom @findingjoy Divider Image

Thank you for sharing this time with me!
Thank you for encouraging me with your comments and votes.

Mamakirbs working daily @findingjoy

Sort:  

Bringing up sons can be such a challenge, but oh so worth it. Congratulations to your son on his 18th Birthday! He is now an adult! It doesn't mean the you will stop worrying about them. You just love them more for who they become!

I so agree with you, as parents we will always worry but learn to trust and love them more for who they become. ❤️

Excellent post, very well articulated. thank you so much.

Thank you and thank you for reading my post.

Yup agree on the joys of raising sons! Well done mamakirbs on raising fine young men!

Thank you :)

I can only imagine how proud you must be. You've been through so much with your kids, I admire your strength and courage.
Congratulations with Espens birthday <3

Thank you for your kind words.

It is a joy to see our children grow into amazing adults! My son is a lifeguard as well. He really likes to serve others.

Blessings to you and your family. :)

It is a joy to see the serving heart of our kids, isn't it?

What a great story. I just had my first boy and someday I'll be thinking "How did you turn 18 so quickly!" What a miracle boy you have there, overcoming such obstacles. @ironshield

What a great son you have raised. He has been through many obstacles in his life. Glad to see he is doing so well. You have great strength; it is a challenge raising boys.

@findingjoy Oh My Goodness, I had no idea. Espen has grown into quite a gentleman, Thanks for the post.

You do have a great son in Espen and I have been so lucky to get to know him. He is a wonderful young man and I can't wait to see him again.
Bringing up kids brings joy and some worrying, but the happiness and love they bring is worth all the money in the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61979.42
ETH 2916.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63