You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge - My Update For June 2018

Hey, @simplymike! Sorry to hear you're not quite up to things yet. Your garden's looking great, though, and I think you should console yourself that the weeds are just a living mulch....

You have some special plants that I had - until the drought killed them - the pepino for starters. And the borage... I'm hoping that the latter comes up from seeds that might have dropped. Incidentally, do you know that borage is a fabulous companion to sweet basil? When I grew the two together, I had the best basil I'd ever had. And on basil - don't plant it in the same place twice. Wait for four years....

I am so trying to get The Husband to buy into companion planting thing, but he doesn't like what he sees as the chaos. In a past life he was a stock farmer and at one stage left all the plant-related things to me, so he's learning a whole lot of new things, including about the three sisters which he wants to try when our spring comes around!

Be well, and look forward to more of your garden!

Sort:  

There are some clear schedules about companion planting out there. I’ve got one on my blog, but since it is in Dut h, it will probably not so useful for you.
If I can gfind the energy, I will create such a clear list that he won’t be able to resist again
Once you’ve figured out how nature takes care of everything...
crops don’t grow in matching rows in nature either. They grow next to eachoter, And I assume there is a reason for that. (Plants are way smarter than we think, lol ;0)

Thank you, that would be lovely - when you're up to it. It would good to make companion planting irresistible to him! LOL. He is beginning to see that planting with the moon makes a difference. I suppose it just confirms for him that he married a lunatic. I have to remind him from time to time that when we met, I had tomatoes and spinacg growing among my flowers in my postage stamp of a garden! Nothing was in straight rows, either! LOL. Plants and beasties are much smarter than we think, absolutely... :)

PS As I write, we are having wonderful rain - measured about 12mm just for today. So wonderful!

You can just show him by planting nasturtiums or calendula flowers and then show him all the aphids that will feed on those two instead of the other plants, lol.
He will be convinced instantly, lol

Yes he will. Hi's very freaked out about cutworm at the moment which took out all the peas, and will do the same to carrots! I will put both on the shopping list! LOL

;0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89