Adjusting Support Cables On My Wind Turbine

in #homesteading6 years ago

Today's power is a stable 13.5 input right at the float mode line.

DSCF5476.JPG

This is my wind turbine:

DSCF5479.JPG

Today we need to adjust the support cables. Every winter the cables get cold and contract then in summer they heat up and expand. This causes the cable wires to need adjustment, either tighten or loosen some what depending on time of year. Bigger turbines don't really have this issue as they have a heartier pole system.

Here is a look at the mid point cables where they attach to the turbine pole:

DSCF5483.JPG

Here is a video of me making the adjustments and explaining why...

Here are the turnbuckles I was adjusting:

DSCF5485.JPG

DSCF5488.JPG

Next time I will need to lower the turbine to re position the cable ties so I can reset the turnbuckles. Over the years the cables have stretched enough for the turnbuckles to max out this time...

DSCF5496.JPG

Here is my awesome wind turbine standing with coolness in my woods and a video of it spinning perfectly:

DSCF5498.JPG

Hope you enjoyed this article :) Brought to you by:

FBD Sticker Add.jpg

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60