Crock Pot Gravy Stew

in #homesteading5 years ago

It is cold out and that means stew! The best foods in winter are soups, stews, and chili’s as far as I am concerned.

Today I made another steak and veggie stew using a brown gravy mix. I like it because it thickens it up and sticks to your ribs longer 🙂

So I pulled out the old ancient crock pot and loaded it with stew meat…

Untitled.jpg

Then I chose my veggies and added them. I used carrots, onions, potatoes, celery, and baby corn. Note I picked the miniature versions so no cutting except for the celery. I added 3/4ths a stick of butter as well because this is brown gravy stew and that calls for butter in my house…

Untitled2.jpg

Now for the spices. I add cilantro, basil, oregano, garlic, and of course brown gravy mix 🙂

crockpot cooking  (6).JPG

crockpot cooking  (7).JPG

Now add in the water and stir and let sit for a few hours. Later when it is finished I will add some more gravy mix to thicken it up to my liking. I will also add some hot spices to my individual serving as the wife doesn’t like that part.

crockpot cooking  (9).JPG

crockpot cooking  (10).JPG

ENJOY!!!

Brought to you by:
FBD Sticker 4.jpg

comments2.gif

Like FixedByDoc and want to show support? You can by visiting the online FixedByDoc Store and finding that perfect something to show how much you enjoy following the adventure!
Great products like these and more are found right here: https://shop.spreadshirt.com/FixedByDoc/?page=3
FBD Products.png

Sort:  

Now I am ready for some beef stew. My crock pot is on the counter. I just have to go to the store for the meat and vegetables. I am making this tomorrow cause too late today. I am getting biscuits too.

oooo i got biscuits in the fridge lol. gonna make some now. good idea badger...

Now I wanna make beef stew! Beef stew has gotta be one of my favorite comfort foods. I'll have to find a way to make a keto version. Challenge Accepted 😁

:) be sure to blog it girl... and share it here :)

Looks pretty tasty to me. Nothing like a good stew, soup, or chili when its cold out like you said doc.

always a good time for hot girl chili wrestling...

Mmmm Man I love a good thick gravy stew with lots of meat. Now I have a major craving for stew and biscuits.

i made biscuits to. winter is a good time for this stuff...

Looking good we had stew last week. I think Monday is potato soup day with cheesy biscuits.

next up i think might be a white stew consisting of whole nude potatoes, instant mash potatoes, pearl onions, white gravy, Parmesan cheese, garlic, butter, and some seasonings.

Crock Pot cooking is a very energy efficient way of slow cooking. @ 200 watts for 5 hours and with the heating element cycling on and off you will consume 1/2 of a kilowatt hour. I used an egauge to measure cooking a roast for 5 hours.

cool. good to know facts...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85